Page Contents:
Use reference materials to find background information. Reference books can help you:
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
This encyclopedia will provide overview essays in five major subject areas: body systems and functions, issues and theories, techniques and practices, devices and equipment, and treatments and therapies. A key terms box accompanies all major entries.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
Named a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today. New topics include NIH-funded research areas, a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals, addictions care, palliative care, translational science, simulation, trauma care, family-centered care, mild cognitive impairment, active surveillance for cancer care, workplace and empowerment research, nurse engagement, nurse-physician collaboration, CAM and empowerment research, spirituality, synthesis and action research, mixed methods research, systematic review, ethnopharmacology, and more. Key Features: Includes NIH-funded research topics Provides a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals Adds over 20 new areas of research and updates original entries Written by over 200 nursing research experts Organized alphabetically for easy access to information
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by
Bring new expertise to your patient care with the brand new edition of the Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, the most complete nursing manual ever! A classic text since it was first published in 1974, the Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice has provided essential nursing knowledge and up-to-date information on patient care for nearly 40 years. Now in its 10th edition, this full-color text is organized into five major parts, covering the Nursing Process and Practice; Medical-Surgical Nursing; Maternity & Neonatal Nursing; Pediatric Nursing; and Psychiatric Nursing. This important centerpiece of your professional library ...has been reviewed by dozens of clinical experts--all recognized authorities in their fields. You'll find all the expert guidance you need to meet virtually every nursing challenge and can be totally confident with recommendations, facts and findings grounded in Official Guidelines from the National Institutes of Health, American Diabetes Association, American Heart Association, American Nurses Association, Joint Commission, AWHONN, and others. With more than 596 full-color photos, illustrations, and charts organized in a convenient, 1,880 page outline format, the content is evidence-based and filled with procedure guidelines and practical help you'll put to immediate use, including . . . * Step-by-step procedure guidelines for more than 150 procedures--with rationales--accompanying appropriate entries so you'll know what to do next and why. * Scores of reproducible patient-teaching aids that let you quickly and easily review essential self-care information with your patient. * Lavish illustrations and photos clarify instructions and concepts. * Pathophysiology , diagnostics, and therapies * Nursing assessments, procedures, interventions, and patient teaching * Ethical and legal issues, wellness and prevention, and genetics * Easier documentation , drug safety, workload management tips ... ...and much more A companion Website includes full text, an image bank; and drug-related NCLEX-style questions, FDA updates, and new clinical studies.
Professional Guide to Diseases by
Get ready to provide efficient, informed patient care, with the newly updated Professional Guide to Diseases , 11th Edition . This comprehensive guide offers the causes, signs and symptoms for more than 600 disorders, with expert nursing direction on tests, assessments, diagnosis, treatments, and special considerations. Whether you are a student preparing for board certification or are a new or experienced nurse, this is vital support for understanding correct treatment of the common conditions seen almost daily. Build up your ground-floor knowledge of a wide range of common disorders and diseases: NEW full-color figures and illustrations Boxed text on pathophysiology and prevention that helps reinforce difficult concepts Icons that emphasize important concepts: Elderly Tip, Pediatric Tip, Clinical Alert, Life-Threatening Disorder, and Confirming Diagnosis Consistent template that makes information quick and easy to find yet comprehensive enough to offer complete coverage of a group of similar diseases Expert guidance that leads you to targeted, cost-effective testing Chapters offer a thorough grounding in:Disorders found in individual body systems - Cardiovascular; respiratory; neurologic; gastrointestinal; hepatobiliary; musculoskeletal; renal and urologic; immune; hematologic; metabolic and nutritional; endocrine; eye; ear, nose and throat; skin; genetic; obstetric and gynecologic; sexual; and psychiatric Malignant neoplasms - Head, neck and spine; thorax; abdomen and pelvis; male and female genitalia; bone, skin and soft tissue; blood and lymph Infection - Gram-positive cocci, gram-negative cocci, gram-positive bacilli, gram-negative bacilli, spirochetes and mycobacteria, mycoses, respiratory viruses, rash-producing viruses, enteroviruses, arbovirus, miscellaneous viruses, rickettsia, protozoa, helminths Trauma - Head, neck and spine, thorax, abdomen, extremities, whole body Updated information on rare diseases, potential agents of bioterrorism, and complementary and alternative therapies for specific conditions, with additional coverage for more than 50 life-threatening disorders Detailed guidance on hundreds of commonly seen disorders and diseases in easy-to-read language -- ideal for both graduate and undergraduate study Offers new nurses the confidence to function fully while building on-the-unit skills and know-how Small enough size to carry with you as a solid resource -- informative, concise and organized for easy reference Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks About the Clinical Editor Dr. Laura M. Willis, DNP, APRN-CNP,CMSRN, is a Family Nurse Practitioner at Urbana Family Medicine and Pediatrics in Urbana, Ohio
Nursing2021 Drug Handbook by
THE #1 Drug Guide for nurses & other clinicians...always dependable, always up to date! The thoroughly updated Nursing2021 Drug Handbook includes: Nursing-focused drug monographs featuring for over 3,700 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format 63 brand-new FDA-approved drugs More than 8,200 clinical updates --new dosages and indications, Black Box warnings, adverse reactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information Special focus on U.S. and Canadian drug safety issues and concerns Photoguide insert with images of 450 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules
The Essentials of Nursing Leadership by
This new approach to leadership focuses on how students can develop your leadership skills right from the start of their nursing programme through to transitioning to their first role. The book first takes students through the underpinning knowledge and theory and then through practical skills to help them understand all aspects of leadership and how it is a key component of providing quality care to patients in a range of environments and settings. Real stories from nursing leaders, practitioners and students are included to inspire students and show them how they can impact positively on practice, whatever level they are working at. Key features include: • Real life focus, grounded in everyday practice, with lots of case studies and examples to help students see how theory relates to practice • Activities to help students reflect about their own practice, and about themselves as leaders • Video interviews with nurse leaders and students on the companion website • Further reading and links to journal articles in both the book and more on the companion website help students delve deeper and prepare for assessments.
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by
Designated a Doody's Core Title Praise for the previous edition: This reference is valuable to scholars at all levels of nursing and is especially useful to researchers. . . . With this volume at hand consumers of research and theory will learn more easily and quickly.Molly (Mickey) Dougherty, PhD, RN Professor of Nursing, University of North Carolina Editor, Nursing Research What distinguishes this Dictionary from others are its attention to the diversity in inquiry and distinctively nursing 'takes' on key concepts in theory and research. This Dictionary will be a welcome addition to the libraries of both new and experienced researchers." Margarete Sandelowski Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.Key features: Includes new and updated entries on developing national and international research trends, such as translational research, implementation science, and comparative effectiveness research Contains content related to high-priority research areas, such as biological and biobehavioral research, outcomes research, health services research, and participatory models of research Presents cross-references and citations from relevant multinational nursing and interdisciplinary literature sources Incorporates information based on the scrutiny of students and faculty to ensure utmost clarity
Provides realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality in a video atlas of human anatomy. Originally intended for medical and dental students, medical practitioners, and allied health students, it has become a valuable resource for non-medical personnel as well.
