Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Guides

Finding Dissertations

Find Dissertations on a Topic

Finding dissertations in OneSearchOneSearch is a good place to start a search for dissertations on a topic, as it searches across multiple databases.

 

To find dissertations in OneSearch, first conduct a search by entering your keywords in the OneSearch box. After you get your search results:

  1. Click the drop down menu under "Resource Type"
  2. Check the "Dissertations" box
  3. Finally, click "Apply Filters"

 

OR, Use the OneSearch "Advanced Search" option, found under the OneSearch box, on the right.

In the Advanced Search, use the "Material Type" limiter on the right, and then scroll down to "Dissertations" in the dropdown menu:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Databases are another place to search for dissertations. Use the Databases A-Z and then use the dropdown menu under "All Database Types" and then limit to "Dissertations and Theses"

Databases may offer more limiters and search options than using OneSearch. The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global  database is the largest dissertations database with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

Find TCSPP Dissertations

To find dissertations at The Chicago School of Professional Psychology, use the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database. You can also find this database on the Databases A-Z page.

In the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database, use the advanced search, and then scroll to the "University/ institution" limiters under the search box. You can either type "Chicago school of professional psychology" in the "University/ institution" search box OR use  "Look Up Universities/ Institutions"

Limit to TCSPP dissertations

Find TCSPP Dissertations by Department

In the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global .  Change the search parameter in the dropdown menu next to the search box to “department,” then enter the department name in the search box.

For example, if you're looking for dissertations in international psychology, you can put “international psychology” in the search box.

 

Remember to put  “Chicago School of Professional Psychology” under “University/institution” further down the page to limit dissertations to TCSPP.

Keep Track of Dissertations in Your Field

The ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database adds thousands of titles every year. If you don't want to keep having to repeat your search to find new dissertations and theses in your field, you can track them by creating either an email alert or an RSS feed.

First, create and complete a search, then use the Save Search/ Alert option on the right:

Keep track of new dissertations using alerts

Finding Disserations Using a Particular Methodology

Most dissertation abstracts will include the methodology used.  To limit dissertation to a particular methodology,

1) Enter your keywords such as

qualitiative

quantitative

phenomenological

mixed methods

2) Change the search field to "Abstract:"

3) Add any additional keywords and search