Growing up Queer: Kids and the Remaking of LGBTQ Identity by
LGBTQ kids reveal what it's like to be young and queer today Growing Up Queer explores the changing ways that young people are now becoming LGBT-identified in the US. Through interviews and three years of ethnographic research at an LGBTQ youth drop-in center, Mary Robertson focuses on the voices and stories of youths themselves in order to show how young people understand their sexual and gender identities, their interest in queer media, and the role that family plays in their lives. The young people who participated in this research are among the first generation to embrace queer identities as children and adolescents. This groundbreaking and timely consideration of queer identity demonstrates how sexual and gender identities are formed through complicated, ambivalent processes as opposed to being natural characteristics that one is born with. In addition to showing how youth understand their identities, Growing Up Queer describes how young people navigate queerness within a culture where being gay is the "new normal." Using Sara Ahmed's concept of queer orientation, Robertson argues that being queer is not just about one's sexual and/or gender identity, but is understood through intersecting identities including race, class, ability, and more. By showing how society accepts some kinds of LGBTQ-identified people while rejecting others, Growing Up Queer provides evidence of queerness as a site of social inequality. The book moves beyond an oversimplified examination of teenage sexuality and shows, through the voices of young people themselves, the exciting yet complicated terrain of queer adolescence.
Handbook of Research with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Populations by
Handbook of Research with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Populations provides a detailed examination of the current methods and theoretical frameworks for conducting research with LGBT populations and advocates for the practical advantages of introducing greater complexity and nuance in designing and implementing research models.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by
This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic, and addresses questions such as: · What are the key theories used to understand variations in sexual orientation and gender identity? · How do Gay-Straight Alliances (GSA) affect LGBTQ youth? · How do LGBTQ people experience the transition to parenthood? · How does sexual orientation intersect with other key social locations, such as race, to shape experience and identity? · What are the effects of marriage equality on sexual minority individuals and couples? Top researchers and clinicians contribute to the 400 signed entries, from fields such as: · Psychology · Human Development · Gender/Queer Studies · Sexuality Studies · Social Work · Sociology The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies is an essential resource for researchers interested in an interdisciplinary perspective on LGBTQ lives and issues.
Same Sex, Different Cultures: Exploring Gay and Lesbian Lives by
Because homoerotic relations can be found in so many cultures, Gilbert Herdt argues that we should think of these relations as part of the human condition. This new cross-cultural study of gays, lesbians, and bisexuals around the world, Same Sex, Different Cultures provides a unique perspective on maturing and living within societies, both historical and contemporary, that not only acknowledge but also incorporate same-gender desires and relations.Examining what it means to organize ?sex? in a society that lacks a category for ?sex,? or to love someone of the same gender when society does not have a ?homosexual? or ?gay/lesbian? role, Herdt provides provocative new insights in our understanding of gay and lesbians lives. Accurate in both its scientific conceptions and wealth of cultural and historical material, examples range from the ancient Greeks and feudal China and Japan to the developing countries of Africa, India, Mexico, Brazil, and Thailand, from a New Guinea society to contemporary U.S. culture, including Native Americans. For all of these peoples, homoerotic relations emerge as part of culture'and not separate from history or society.In many of these groups, loving or engaging in sexual relations is found to be the very basis of the local cultural theory of ?human nature? and the mythological basis for the cosmos and the creation of society. The mistake of modern Western culture, Gilbert contends, is to continue the legalization of prejudice against lesbians and gays.In this light, the book addresses the issue of ?universal? versus particular practices and reveals positive role models that embrace all aspects of human sexuality. Finally, it offers knowledge of the existence of persons who have loved and have been intimate sexually and romantically with the same gender in other lands through divergent cultural practices and social roles.The most important lesson to learn from this cross-cultural and historical study of homosexuality is that there is room for many at the table of humankind.
This Book Is Gay by
The bestselling young adult non-fiction book on sexuality and gender! Lesbian. Gay. Bisexual. Transgender. Queer. Intersex. Straight. Curious. This book is for everyone, regardless of gender or sexual preference. This book is for anyone who's ever dared to wonder. This book is for YOU. This candid, funny, and uncensored exploration of sexuality and what it's like to grow up LGBTQ also includes real stories from people across the gender and sexual spectrums, not to mention hilarious illustrations. Inside this revised and updated edition, you'll find the answers to all the questions you ever wanted to ask, with topics like: Stereotypes--the facts and fiction Coming out as LGBT Where to meet people like you The ins and outs of gay sex How to flirt And so much more! You will be entertained. You will be informed. But most importantly, you will know that however you identify (or don't) and whomever you love, you are exceptional. You matter. And so does this book. This book is for: LGBTQIA+ teens, tweens, and adults Readers looking to learn more about the LGBTQIA+ community Parents of gay kids and other LGBT youth Educators looking for advice about the LGBTQIA+ community Praise for This Book is Gay: A Guardian Best Book of the Year 2018 Garden State Teen Book Award Winner "The book every LGBT person would have killed for as a teenager, told in the voice of a wise best friend. Frank, warm, funny, USEFUL."--Patrick Ness, New York Times bestselling author "This egregious gap has now been filled to a fare-thee-well by Dawson's book."--Booklist *STARRED REVIEW*
What Even Is Gender? by
Presents a new philosophy of gender categories, going beyond binary oppositions Introduces some novel concepts, such as 'gender feels' and applies hermeneutical injustice theory to gender One of the first books to use analytic philosophy to disentangle a lot of the confusing debates around gender, which are still rooted in physiological differences
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by
Transgender studies, broadly defined, has become increasingly prominent as a field of study over the past several decades, particularly in the last ten years. The experiences and rights of trans people have also increasingly become the subject of news coverage, such as the ability of trans people to access restrooms, their participation in the military, the issuing of driver's licenses that allow a third gender option, the growing visibility of nonbinary trans teens, the denial of gender-affirming health care to trans youth, and the media's misgendering of trans actors. With more and more trans people being open about their gender identities, doctors, nurses, psychologists, social workers, counselors, educators, higher education administrators, student affairs personnel, and others are increasingly working with trans individuals who are out. But many professionals have little formal training or awareness of the life experiences and needs of the trans population. This can seriously interfere with open communications between trans people and service providers and can negatively impact trans people's health outcomes and well-being, as well as interfere with their educational and career success and advancement. Having an authoritative, academic resource like The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies can go a long way toward correcting misconceptions and providing information that is otherwise not readily available. This encyclopedia, featuring more than 300 well-researched articles, takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address a wide range of topics, from broad concepts (e.g., the criminal justice system, activism, mental health), to specific subjects (e.g., the trans pride flag, the Informed Consent Model, voice therapy), to key historical figures, events, and organizations (e.g., Lili Elbe, the Stonewall Riots, Black Lives Matter). Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries. Among the fields of studies covered are psychology, sociology, history, family studies, K-12 and higher education, law/political science, medicine, economics, literature, popular culture, the media, and sports.
Gender and Identity Around the World by
This book provides an indispensable resource for high school and college students interested in the history and current status of gender identity formation and maintenance and how it impacts LGBTQ rights throughout the world.Gender and Identity around the World explores a variety of gender and LGBTQ experiences and issues in countries from all the world's regions. Guided by more than 50 recognized academic experts, readers will examine how gender and LGBTQ identities are developed, fought for, perceived, and policed in countries as diverse as France, Brazil, Russia, Jordan, Iraq, and China.Each chapter opens with a general introduction to a country or group of countries and flows into a discussion of gender and identity in terms of culture, education, family life, health and wellness, law, work, and activism in that region of the world. A section on contemporary issues specific to the country or group of countries follows this discussion.
Gender by
The term "gender" was first distinguished from "sex" in the 1950s, when psychologists began to discuss the idea of "gender roles" - behaviors and responsibilities given to people by a society rather than flowing from their biology. Over the last two decades, transgender people have expanded our understanding of gender even further, introducing to the mainstream the concept of "gender identity," an individual's understanding of their own gender. Along the way, there have been numerous debates and controversies (i.e., what is the influence of biology on gender, how does the media impact gender and gender roles, and do transgender people reinforce gender stereotypes or help to free us from them?). In an easy-to-read format that includes questions and short responses, Gender: What Everyone Needs to Know guides the reader through basic definitions; the history of gender as a concept; the role of biology, psychology, and culture on gender; and gender norms over time and across the globe.
The Savvy Ally by
The Savvy Ally: A Guide for Becoming a Skilled LGBTQ+ Advocate is an enjoyable, humorous, encouraging, easy to understand guidebook for being an ally to the LGBTQ+ communities. It is chock full of practical and useful tools for LGBTQ+ advocacy, including: -Current and relevant information on identities and LGBTQ+ language -Tips for what to say and what not to say when someone comes out to you -LGBTQ+ etiquette and techniques for respectful conversations -Common bloopers to avoid -Tools for effectively navigating difficult conversations -Suggestions for addressing common questions and concerns -Actions for creating more LGBTQ+ inclusive spaces -Recommendations for self-care and sustainable allyship This book will be useful for teachers, counselors, social workers, nurses, medical technicians, and college professors, as well as parents who want to be supportive of their LGBTQ+ child, but don't know how. This is not a book about why to be an ally. This is a book about how to be an ally. The goal of The Savvy Ally is to create more confident, active allies who are effective advocates for change. This informative, entertaining, and supportive guidebook will surely jump-start even the most tentative ally.
Casebook for counseling lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons and their families by
This captivating book contains 31 case studies that focus on what is said and done in actual counseling sessions with LGBTQQI clients, including diagnosis; interventions, treatment goals, and outcomes; transference and countertransference issues; other multicultural considerations; and recommendations for further counseling or training. Experts in the field address topics across the areas of individual development, relationship concerns, contextual matters, and wellness. The cases presented include coming out; counseling intersex, bisexual, and transsexual clients; couples, marriage, and family counseling; parenting issues; aging; working with rural clients and African American, Native American, Latino/a, Asian, and multiracial individuals; sexual minority youth; HIV; sexual and drug addictions; binational couples; work and career; domestic violence; spirituality and religion; sexual issues; and women's health. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org
Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Clients by
The ""Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy With Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Clients, Second Edition"" significantly builds upon the areas of knowledge mapped in the award-winning first edition and explores the practical ramifications of recent changes regarding therapy with this population. In this thoroughly updated edition, the editors focus critical attention on the need to enhance our understanding of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender clients. They incorporate new and emerging areas of scholarship and reflect on implications of recent changes in our society, including political struggles for gay civil unions, marriage, and adoption rights. This volume focuses on the complex cultural contexts of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and explores how to provide them with effective psychotherapy across a range of presenting concerns. The authors stress the importance of affirmation with lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender clients throughout. This second edition of the Handbook will be an essential resource for all therapists, counselors, and researchers.
Handbook of LGBT Issues in Community Mental Health by
Take your knowledge of the mental health issues that affect LGBT people to the next level! The Handbook of LGBT Issues in Community Mental Health provides reliable, up-to-date information on clinical issues, administrative practices, and health concerns related to the provision of public sector mental health services to LGBT people. The handbook presents clinical case material and describes various current clinical programs, with details about how they were developed and fostered, as well as their unique role in the provision of mental health services to this population. Contributors share their experiences developing two of the largest public LGBT programs in the United States and offer practical strategies for developing LGBT mental health programming in any community. This single source brings together mental health clinicians, administrators, and advocates whose work involves public sector issues that concern the LGBT community. These seasoned experts provide in-depth information for those who need to know about the current state of mental health care in public psychiatry for LGBT individuals. The book also explores the professional and popular literature on the subject, providing a broad overview of the issues in this expanding clinical area. The Handbook of LGBT Issues in Community Mental Health contains five chapters that target policy, administrative, and programmatic issues, providing a neglected perspective for clinicians, program developers, administrators, advocates, and funders. In addition, you'll find: two case studies that vividly demonstrate the relevance of culturally appropriate services and highlight the reasons why services in this area are so sorely needed a psychiatrist's recollections of the changes he faced while working in a homophobic environment within the Veterans Administration system fascinating interviews with Francis Lu and Barbara Warren that pr
Handbook of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity in Counseling and Psychotherapy by
Scholarship on sexual minority (SM) and transgender and gender non-conforming (TGNC) psychology has exploded in recent years, with unprecedented impact on practitioners and researchers, as well as the social and political compass of the nation. At the same time, best practices for mental health professionals who work with SM and TGNC clients continue to evolve rapidly.This volume builds on the editors' 2007 Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy With Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Clients to explore the challenges faced by SM and TGNC clients today. Experts in the field examine how the concepts of gender and sexual orientation are both socioculturally-constructed and can be informed by biologically-focused research, thus setting the stage for flexible, affirmative mental health services. Chapters cover a range of practice-focused, theoretical, and empirically-based contemporary perspectives, while highlighting themes that include an appreciation for complexity in identity, minority stress, and stigma management. With concise summaries of research findings and detailed case studies, contributors provide an intersectional understanding of how practitioners can work within rapidly-changing political and legal contexts to uncover and affirm clients' multiple social identities, and build resilience.
Lesbian and Gay Parents and Their Children: Research on the Family Life Cycle by
This title provides a comprehensive overview of the research on same-sex parenthood, exploring ways in which lesbian and gay parents resist, accommodate, and transform fundamental notions of gender, parenting, and family. It integrates both qualitative and quantitative research. It highlights understudied aspects of same-sex parenting, such as termination of couple relationships. It offers practical recommendations in every chapter.
Substance Use Disorders in Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Clients by
Internalized homophobia, alienation, poor support structures, and high levels of depression all contribute to substance abuse among lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals, with social activity at bars and clubs reinforcing addictive behavior. The threat of bias in treatment programs also prevents many from seeking help. An essential resource for human service professionals searching for the latest research on these unique issues, this volume features both state of the art practice methods for treating substance use disorders and up-to-date analyses of sexual orientation and gender identity issues, heterosexism, and the ethical challenges of working with the LGBT community. Sandra Anderson discusses practice with individuals, couples, families, and small groups, as well as practice at the program level. Drawing on case studies with her own clients and from social service agencies that treat LGBT clients, Anderson emphasizes evidence-based treatment models, including motivational enhancement therapy, contingency management, the matrix model, and community reinforcement. Packed with recommendations for effective practice, this singular volume confronts the obstacles faced not only by clients with addictions but also by the LGBT population as a whole.
LGBT Psychology and Mental Health by
This cutting-edge guide spotlights some of the most exciting emerging discoveries, trends, and research areas in LGBT psychology, both in science and therapy. LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances brings together concise, substantive reviews of what is new or on the horizon in science and in key areas of clinical practice. It will equip professionals at institutions with mental health programs that deal with lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues with information and insight to help psychologists, mental health clinicians, and counselors better serve the LGBT populations that, increasingly, are seeking their services. The book begins with introductory chapters that present an overview of the field, chronicle the relationship between the LGBT community and the field of psychology in past decades, and identify emerging issues covered in the volume. It then addresses subjects such as social psychology and LGBT populations, health disparities and LGBT populations, the evolution of developmental theory related to the LBGT populations, emerging policy issues in LGBT health and psychology, and recent efforts to make the field of psychology more trans-inclusive and affirmative. Chapters are also dedicated to examining contemporary, LGBT-affirmative psychoanalysis and treating addictions and substance abuse in the LGBT community. The book concludes with chapters that address how the concept of intersectionality can serve as a way to better understand LGBT members who possess multiple cultural identities and the unique stressors they experience in daily life. The final chapter summarizes issues that bridge the contributions provided by the authors, and it highlights current issues of focal concern in order to project future directions for the field of LGBT psychology in the next two decades.
LGBTQ Cultures by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Winner of the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Community/Public Health category. Drawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated GBTQ Cultures, 3rd Edition paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients. This vital guide fills the LGBTQ awareness gaps, including replacing myths and stereotypes with facts, and measuring the effects of social stigma on health. Vital for all nursing specialties, this is the seminal guide to actively providing appropriate, culturally sensitive care to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities. Care for LGBTQ patients with awareness, sensitivity, and knowledge . . . NEW and updated content includes references to case studies, discussion aids, links to videos, and action steps Explains basic concepts and terminology related to sexual orientation and gender identity--what constitutes culturally appropriate care and its importance for nurses Offers up-to-date statistics on healthcare refusal rates, prominent LGBTQ health issues, and social, psychological, and environmental factors affecting LGBTQ health and healthcare Specific information on LGBTQ populations that helps nurses improve quality of care, care decisions, and referrals Essential classroom and clinical guide-- illuminates LGBTQ healthcare needs for all professional healthcare schools and all practice settings--hospitals, clinics, residential programs, private practices, public health policy settings, and more Ideal best practices guide for all nurse clinicians, nurse educators, community health workers, and policy-makers Delineates the needs of different LGBTQ communities, cultures, and populations Topics include: Diversity issues Developmental issues LGBTQ families Structural changes that need to occur in healthcare systems to create culturally sensitive services Substance abuse issues Mental health issues Risk behaviors, chronic disorders, and serious illnesses Studies and resources for improving inclusion in practice and curricula Structural barriers to quality care--making healthcare settings inclusive Individual, institutional, community, and societal calls to action ​ About the Authors Michele J. Eliason, PhD, is Assistant Dean of the College of Health and Social Sciences at San Francisco State University in San Francisco, California. Peggy L. Chinn, RN, PhD, FAAN, is Professor Emerita of Nursing at the University of Connecticut and the Editor of Advances in Nursing Science.
The Oxford Handbook of Sexual and Gender Minority Mental Health by 
Handbook of Evidence-Based Mental Health Practice with Sexual and Gender Minorities by
Historically, mental health clinical research has taken inadequate account of psychosocial disorders experienced by those who identify as sexual and gender minorities, however, researchers have recently begun developing and adapting evidence-based mental health treatment approaches for use with these groups. Handbook of Evidence-Based Mental Health Practice with Sexual and Gender Minorities offers a comprehensive array of evidence-based approaches for treating sexual and gender minority clients' mental health concerns. The interventions detailed here span a diverse spectrum of populations, including sexual and gender minority youth, transgender populations, same-sex couples, sexual minority parents, and bisexual individuals. Chapters also address numerous mental and behavioral health problems, including anxiety disorders, depression, substance abuse, trauma, body image disturbance, and sexual health. In addition to an overview of the research evidence supporting each clinical presentation and approach, chapters contain practical how-to guidance for therapists to use in their clinical practice. This book reflects a true integration of the best of sexual and gender minority research and the best of evidence-based practice research, presented by the leading experts in the field. As such it is essential reading for mental health professionals who work with these groups, as well as trainees in social work, counseling, and clinical psychology.
Intersectionality, Sexuality and Psychological Therapies by
This book explores the diversity in lesbian, gay, and bisexual lives, with the aim of opening up therapists' understanding of this diversity so that they can work in an ethical, supportive and non-discriminatory way with these individuals. Offers a comprehensive look at diversity within LGB populations, including the interactions between different areas of social difference using contemporary approaches Focuses on the practitioner, illustrating concepts with vignettes and case studies for implementing practical applications Emphasizes gender balance, fully exploring both male and female perspectives on each topic Encompasses different perspectives, including critical health psychology, discursive psychology, intersectionality, critical and cultural theory, and post-colonial discourse, while remaining accessible to all
