The Chicago School Library: Open Access in Psychology: Open Assessments

ETS TestLink

ETS TestLink
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation of such materials in the world.

To find open access tests in TestLink, go to the Advanced Search and change the dropdown to Order Information, then enter downloadable. Use the other dropdown boxes to run your search (enter * in the All Fields dropdown to see all downloadable tests).

PsyToolkit

PsyToolkit
PsyToolkit is a free-to-use toolkit for demonstrating, programming, and running cognitive-psychological experiments and surveys, including personality tests. PsyToolkit is frequently used for academic studies, for student projects, and for teaching cognitive and personality psychology.

Open-Source Psychometrics Project

The Open-Source Psychometrics Project "provides a collection of interactive personality tests with detailed results that can be taken for personal entertainment or to learn more about personality assessment. These tests range from very serious and widely used scientific instruments popular psychology to self produced quizzes. A special focus is given to the strengths, weaknesses and validity of the various systems."

Not every test on this page is scientifically valid: read carefully! There are, however, many useful measures.

Big Five Personality Test
This self-report test measures the big five personality traits using the IPIP Big-Five Factor Markers.
Cattell's 16 Personality Factors Test
This test uses the public domain scales from the International Personality Item Pool that were developed by Lewis Goldberg to be equivalent to the 16PFQ.
Holland Code (RIASEC) Test
This is an interactive version of the IIP RIASEC Markers.
Nonverbal Immediacy Scale
The Nonverbal Immediacy Scale measures individual differences in expression of nonverbal immediacy and was developed by Virginia Richmond, James McCrotsky and Aaron Johnson in 2003. This interactive is the self-report version.
Open Extended Jungian Type Scales 1.2
This is an interactive version of the Open Extended Jungian Type Scales 1.2, an alternative to the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator.

More Open Assessments

Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute (ADAI) Screening and Assessment Instruments Database
ADAI Library is located at the University of Washington and collects research and scientific literature on alcohol and other drug use from all relevant disciplines. Instruments can be found by name or acronym, developer, descriptors, and words in the abstract. Descriptive and psychometric information is provided, and some instruments are in the public domain and can be freely downloaded from the web. A list of all the instruments can also be browsed
DSM-5-TR Online Assessment Measures
Patient assessment measures for use at the initial patient interview and to monitor treatment progress, thus serving to advance the use of initial symptomatic status and patient reported outcome information.
Mental Instrument Database for the Social Sciences
The Measurement Instrument Database for the Social Sciences (MIDSS). The site is designed to be a repository for instruments that are used to collect data from across the social sciences. Please use the site to discover instruments you can use in you own research.
Self Report Measures from the Addiction Research Center at the University of Wisconsin Madison, WI
Includes over 110 full-text measures of Affect, Personality, and Externalizing measure as well as measures for Alcohol, Marijuana, and more.
UCLA Center for HIV Identification, Prevention and Treatment Services: Surveys/Scales
208 full text measures across a wide range of subjects/topics, e.g., perceived susceptibility, parenting, attachment, self-efficacy, violence, trauma, and more.

Open Access in Psychology

Assessments at The Chicago School

ETS TestLink

PsyToolkit

Open-Source Psychometrics Project

More Open Assessments