Staying Current in Higher Education

About Campus We at About Campus feel strongly that in order to challenge and inspire our colleagues in higher education—and to address hard issues honestly and directly—we need to present the experience and knowledge of a unique mix of researchers, public figures, professionals, faculty members, students, and those working in both student affairs and academic affairs. Although you may recognize many of our contributors, we reach beyond widely published researchers and professionals to include the insights and perspectives of the many other practitioners who are thinking creatively about higher education, testing new ideas and practices, and assessing the effects of the policies put in place on our campuses. These articles aim to take a stand on how to advance our shared agenda of “enriching the student learning experience.”
Academe Academe explores a wide range of topics in higher education. Our readership includes faculty members, academic professionals, and graduate students from many different disciplines as well as academic leaders, policy makers, and media professionals involved in higher education issues and policy.
Active Learning in Higher Education Active Learning in Higher Education is an international, refereed publication for all those who teach and support learning in higher education (HE) and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges. The journal is devoted to publishing accounts of research covering all aspects of learning and teaching concerning adults in higher education. Non-discipline specific and non-context/country specific in nature, it comprises accounts of research across all areas of the curriculum, accounts which are relevant to faculty and others involved in learning and teaching in all disciplines, in all countries.
Advances in Health Sciences Education Advances in Health Sciences Education is a forum for scholarly and state-of-the art research into all aspects of health sciences education. It will publish empirical studies as well as discussions of theoretical issues and practical implications. The primary focus of the Journal is linking theory to practice, thus priority will be given to papers that have a sound theoretical basis and strong methodology. The Journal will accept articles on topics such as admissions, problem-based and self-directed learning, faculty development, achievement testing, motivation, curriculum development, curricular comparisons, program evaluation, expertise development, clinical reasoning, continuing education, community-based education, and communication skills (the list is intended as illustrative, not exhaustive). All rigorous methodologies, both quantitative and qualitative, are encouraged. It is aimed at all those committed to the improvement of health professions education: researchers and educators in the fields of medicine, nursing, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, nutrition and related disciplines. From the perspective of external validity, it is critical that authors place their study in a theoretical and empirical context.
Advances in Medical Education and Practices Advances in Medical Education and Practice is an international, peer reviewed, open access journal that aims to present and publish research on Medical Education. The journal covers a broad range of fields including medical, dental, nursing, allied health care, and professional education and focuses on undergraduate education, postgraduate training, and continuing medical education.
American Education Research Journal The American Educational Research Journal (AERJ) is the flagship journal of the American Educational Research Association, featuring articles that advance the empirical, theoretical, and methodological understanding of education and learning. It publishes original peer-reviewed analyses that span the field of education research across all subfields and disciplines and all levels of analysis. It also encourages submissions across all levels of education throughout the life span and all forms of learning. AERJ welcomes submissions of the highest quality, reflecting a wide range of perspectives, topics, contexts, and methods, including interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary work.
ASHE higher education report Between 1983 and 2018, the ASHE Higher Education Report Series (formerly ASHE-ERIC Higher Education Reports, 1972-1982) provided researchers, scholars, and practitioners with timely and substantive information on the critical issues facing higher education. Each monograph presented a definitive analysis of a higher education problem or issue, based on a thorough synthesis of significant literature and institutional experiences. Topics ranged from planning and diversity to performance indicators and curricular innovations.
more...less...
No longer published as of 2017; See Review of Higher Education
Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education is an established international peer-reviewed journal which publishes papers and reports on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within higher education. Its purpose is to advance understanding of assessment and evaluation practices and processes, particularly the contribution that these make to student learning and to course, staff and institutional development. Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education welcomes research-based, reflective or theoretical studies which help to illuminate the practice of assessment and evaluation in higher education. The journal is aimed at all higher education practitioners, irrespective of discipline. It sets out to provide readily accessible, up-to-date information about significant developments within the field, with a view to the sharing and extension of evaluated, innovative practice and the development of ideas. Suggestions for special issues are welcomed.
Change: The Magazine of Higher Learning Change, which is published six times a year, is a magazine dealing with contemporary issues in higher education. Using a magazine format rather than that of an academic journal, Change covers anything related to higher education, "all things higher education." It spotlights trends; provides new insights and ideas; and analyzes the implications of educational programs, policies, and practices. It is intended to stimulate and inform reflective practitioners in colleges, universities, foundations, government, and elsewhere. Its readers include faculty, administrators, trustees, state and federal officials, accreditors, foundation officers, and students. Change is a magazine rather than an academic journal. Like other magazines, it provides material varying in focus, format, and length. These include articles, features, and columns. Periodically, Change devotes an entire issue or focuses several articles in an issue on a particular topic.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Chronicle of Philanthropy
College Student Affairs Journal The College Student Affairs Journal publishes articles related to research, concepts, and practices that have implications for both practitioners and scholars in college student affairs work.
College Student Journal An academic journal presenting original investigations and theoretical papers on issues affecting college students. Includes articles on values, attitudes, opinions, and learning affecting the areas of undergraduate, graduate, and professional schools.
Community College Journal The Community College Journal features articles by leading experts, opinions that put the news in perspective, coverage of higher education issues, and profiles of the field’s leaders. Every issue covers news and information from a national network of colleges, providing the latest surveys, practices, and innovations.
Community College Review The Community College Review (CCR) has led the nation since 1973 in the publication of scholarly, peer-reviewed research and commentary on community colleges. CCR, published quarterly, welcomes manuscripts dealing with all aspects of community college administration, education, and policy, both within the American higher education system as well as within the higher education systems of other countries that have similar tertiary institutions. All submitted manuscripts undergo a blind review. When manuscripts are not accepted for publication, we offer suggestions for how they might be revised. The ultimate intent is to further discourse about community colleges, their students, and the educators who lead and work within these institutions.
Diverse: Issues in Higher Education Diverse: Issues In Higher Education is the preeminent source of critical news, information and insightful commentary on the full range of issues concerning diversity in American higher education.  Diverse began writing about diversity, equity and inclusion in higher education long before diversity and multiculturalism became “hot-button” issues. Today, our mission remains as true as it was more than 38 years ago: to provide information that is honest, thorough and balanced. We seek, through traditional and nontraditional mediums, to be change agents and generate public policies that resolve inequities that still exist today. In fulfilling our mission, we believe we are helping to build the educational, cultural, social and economic structures necessary to allow every individual to reach his or her full potential, and thus contribute to the greater good of their community and the nation.
Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis (EEPA) is the premier journal for rigorous, policy-relevant research on issues central to education. The articles that appear inform a wide range of readers—from scholars and policy analysts to journalists and education associations—working at local, state, and national levels. EEPA is a multidisciplinary journal, and editors consider original research from multiple disciplines, orientations, and methodologies.
Educational Gerontology This well-respected journal offers up-to-date original research in the fields of gerontology, adult education, and the social and behavioral sciences. Researchers from around the world will benefit from the exchange of ideas for both the study and practice of educational gerontology. Papers published in the journal will also serve as authoritative contributions to the growing literature in this burgeoning field. Educational Gerontology is the only international journal of its kind to publish twelve issues per volume year.
Educational Policy Educational Policy blends the best of educational research with the world of practice, making it a valuable resource for educators, policy makers, administrators, researcher, teachers, and graduate students. Educational Policy is concerned with the practical consequences of policy decisions and alternatives. It examines the relationship between educational policy and educational practice, and sheds new light on important debates and controversies within the field. You''ll find that Educational Policy is an insightful compilation of ideas, strategies, and analyses for improving our educational system.
Educational Researcher
Educause Review
Higher Education
Higher Education Policy
Higher Education Quarterly
Higher Education Research & Development
Innovative Higher Education
Inside Higher Education
International Journal of Doctoral Studies
International Journal of Sustainability in Higher Education
The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education
Journal of College Admission
Journal of College and University Student Housing
Journal of College Student Development
Journal of Higher Education
Journal of Higher Education outreach and engagement
Journal of Higher Education Policy and Management
Journal of Hispanic Higher Education
Journal of Library & Information Services in Distance Learning
Journal of Library Administration
Journal of Student Affairs Research and Practice
Journal of Studies in International Education
Liberal Education
Medical Education
Minerva
New Directions for Community Colleges
New Directions for Higher Education
New Directions for Student Services
Peer Review: Emerging Trends and Key Debates in Undergraduate Education
Quality in Higher Education
Research Evaluation
Research in Higher Education
Review of Higher Education
Studies in Higher Education
Teaching in Higher Education

Last Updated: Feb 14, 2024 5:49 PM
URL: https://library.thechicagoschool.edu/guides/HigherEd-publications
Print Page

Subjects: Education, How To Guides