TCSPP writing centers offer one-on-one writing support for course papers, theses and dissertation chapters, general writing development, research writing APA resources and tutorials, other study skills
"The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, m
The style and grammar guidelines pages present information about APA Style as described in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition and the Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition.
Writing Resources in the Library
Writer's Reference Center This link opens in a new window
The database provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively. From the mechanics of writing and grammar to style and research, this online resource covers the fundamentals of quality writing, provides a wealth of vocabulary-building dictionaries, and presents a step-by-step guide to writing a good essay.
General Writing Handbooks
The Elements of Style by William Strunk; E. B. White
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
The classic manual for writing is now in its fourth edition. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk and White is as valuable today as when it was first offered. A new glossary of the grammatical terms used in the book provides a convenient reference for readers.
Psychology Writing Handbooks
Effective Writing in Psychology by Bernard C. Beins; Agatha M. Beins
The second edition of Effective Writing in Psychology helps users produce crisp scientific communication, form concise unambiguous arguments, and render technical information clear and comprehensible. The new edition incorporates the latest guidelines contained within the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual. Clear guidelines on effective writing illustrate how to generate strong and compelling prose, even when the writing is not aimed at a research audience Incorporates changes to the guidelines contained in the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Includes material on how to adapt APA style for poster presentations using PowerPoint, and for oral presentations Contains a new section on using the Internet to present research papers and a new chapter on conducting a literature search, to guide students through databases, keywords, sources, and connections between articles Highlights methods for selecting a research topic and organizing papers Features a sample manuscript showing common deviations from correct APA style and a version demonstrating appropriate use of APA style
Publication Date: 2012-03-22
The Psychology Research Handbook by Frederick T. L. Leong; James T. Austin; James T. Austin
A comprehensive, easy-to-understand guide to the entire research process, this book quickly and efficiently equips advanced students and research assistants to conduct a full-scale investigation. The book is organized around the idea of a 'research script' that is, it follows the standard mode of research planning and design, data collection and analysis, and results writing. The volume contains 35 chapters, some co-authored by advanced graduate students who give their fellow students a touch of the 'real world' adding to the clarity and practicality of many chapters.
Publication Date: 2005-01-01