Educational Psychology and Technology

About Journal Articles

Library databases (also known as "indexes") identify journal articles published on a particular topics. In addition to journal articles, many databases will also include records for book chapters, dissertations, and other reports.

Best Bets: Top Databases for Journal Articles in Educational Psychology and Technology

The library subscribes numerous databases filled with articles from thousands of respected publications. The following are the top databases for doing research on the subject of educational technology and psychology, and a great place to start your research:

Education Source This link opens in a new window
The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage in the field of education, including assessment and testing. Coverage includes abstracts, citations, and full text.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

More Databases with Education Psychology and Technology Content

Topics in Educational Psychology and Technology may overlap with complementary areas of inquiry. It may be useful to search within a multidisciplinary databases, or other subject specific databases.

Subject Databases

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database covers more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Abstracts and citations only.
Career and Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Career & Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic including healthcare, business, computing science, graphic design, accounting, building trades, and photography.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers an unprecedented multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
ProQuest One Academic
ProQuest One Academic is the best destination for multidisciplinary research, teaching and learning. It brings together more than 250 years of authoritative, curated content available across every discipline and format to one place. It encompasses entirety of four resources many researchers and libraries rely upon: ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global and Academic Video Online, creating a seamless user experience for researchers at all levels.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Search results can be sorted in order of Times Cited to see the most important articles first. This is not a Full Text Database. Some items covered by this database are not currently available in full text but may be requested through inter-library loan.

Top-Ranked Journals in Education Psychology

Top Journals in Educational and Developmental Psychology

Scimago SJR ranks the following journals as those with the highest "impact factor" in Educational and Developmental Psychology:

•   Educational Psychologist
•   Journal of the Learning Sciences
•   Journal of Abnormal Psychology
•   Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry and Allied Disciplines
•   Developmental Review
•   Current Directions in Psychological Science
•   Educational Psychology Review
•   Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
•   Child Development
•   Exceptional Children
•   Behavior Research Methods
•   Child Development Perspectives
•   Developmental Science
•   Cognition and Instruction
•   Journal of Educational Psychology
•   Contemporary Educational Psychology
•   Learning and Instruction

Top Journals in Educational Technology

Scimago SJR ranks the following journals as those with the highest "impact factor" in Educational Technology:

•   Internet and Higher Education (not available full text through the library)
•   Computers and Education
•   British Journal of Educational Technology
•   International Journal of Educational Technology in Higher Education
•   Journal of Computer Assisted Learning
•   American Journal of Distance Education
•   Educational Technology and Society
•   International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning
•   Australasian Journal of Educational Technology
•   IEEE Transactions on Learning Technologies
•   International Journal of Artificial Intelligence in Education
•   Education and Information Technologies
•   Interactive Learning Environments
•   Learning Environments Research
•   Communications in Information Literacy
•   Information Technology for Development

Top Journals in Education

Scimago SJR ranks the following journals as those with the highest "impact factor" in Education:

•   Review of Educational Research
•   Journal of the Learning Sciences
•    Developmental Review
•   Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis
•   American Educational Research Journal
•   Review of Research in Education
•   Sociology of Education
•   Research Synthesis Methods
•   Journal of Teacher Education
•   Educational Research Review
•   Strategic Organization
•   Exceptional Children
•    Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics

Last Updated: Apr 17, 2024 9:58 AM
URL: https://library.thechicagoschool.edu/educationalpsychology
Print Page

Subjects: Education