The Chicago School Library: Open Access in Psychology: Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open Educational Resources (OERs) are scholarly resources like textbooks, supplements, or even full courses, which are intended for classroom use.

Mason OER Metafinder
The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites (e.g, OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.) with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons
From a single point of access in OER Commons, you can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons' growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER.
OpenLearn
OpenLearn is a free learning platform, delivered by The Open University as part of its Royal Charter commitment to support the wellbeing of the community.

BCcampus OpenEd
Open textbooks in the B.C. Open Textbook Collection come in multiple formats. Many can be read online or delivered via PDF, EPUB (for most e-readers) and MOBI (for Kindle) format for free, or can be printed via our print-on-demand service for a nominal fee.
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
OpenStax
OpenStax is part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation. Our mission is to improve educational access and learning for everyone. We do this by publishing openly licensed books, developing and improving research-based courseware, establishing partnerships with educational resource companies, and more.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library was started so that faculty could find open textbooks in one place. More technically, the Open Textbook Library is a comprehensive referatory that points to open textbooks by a variety of authors and publishers.

Fundamentals of Psychological Disorders by Alexis Bridley, Lee W. Daffin Jr.
Publication Date: 2022
Fundamentals of Psychological Disorders (formerly Abnormal Psychology) is an Open Education Resource written by Alexis Bridley, Ph.D. and Lee W. Daffin Jr., Ph.D. through Washington State University. The book tackles the difficult topic of mental disorders in 15 modules and is updated through the DSM-5-TR.
An Introduction to Psychological Statistics by Garett C. Foster et al.
Publication Date: 2018
Through the lens of statistics, we learn to find the signal hidden in the noise when it is there and to know when an apparent trend or pattern is really just randomness. The study of statistics involves math and relies upon calculations of numbers. But it also relies heavily on how the numbers are chosen and how the statistics are interpreted.
Psychology as a Biological Science by Robert Biswas-Diener, Ed Diener
Publication Date: 2020
This textbook provides standard introduction to psychology course content with a specific emphasis on biological aspects of psychology.
Research Methods in Psychology - 4th Edition by Rajiv S. Jhangiani, I-Chant A. Chiang, Carrie Cuttler, Dana C. Leighton
Publication Date: 2022
A comprehensive textbook for research methods classes. A peer-reviewed inter-institutional project.

Open Access in Psychology