Generative AI tools can help to enhance productivity across professional, educational, and personal tasks. Explore the subpages below to discover AI tools:
GenAI tools can help streamline the literature review or research process by generating research questions, summarizing articles, and suggesting relevant sources. However, while AI can be a helpful assistant, it has limitations—especially when peer-reviewed, scholarly accuracy is critical.
Some of the limitations include:
May suggest articles that are not peer-reviewed or do not exist (hallucinations)
Citation accuracy and source traceability can be unreliable
Often lack access to subscription-based academic databases (e.g., PsycINFO)
Can oversimplify complex or nuanced research topics
Use these tools as a starting point, not a replacement for academic databases or critical evaluation. Always verify any sources provided using The Chicago School University Library resources.
A visual citation-based literature mapping tool that optimizes your time searching for references as you start planning your essay, minor project, or literature review. Research Rabbit scans for any publicly available source online and selects papers based on their similarities.
Perplexity is an AI-powered research assistant that answers questions using real-time web sources and provides citations. It can help users explore topics quickly, summarize findings, and point to potential sources
Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature. Its primary goal is to help researchers find the most relevant information quickly and efficiently. By leveraging machine learning and a large language model (LLM), Semantic Scholar can understand the context of your search queries and provide more precise results compared to traditional search engines.
(These tools may offer a free version with fewer features, a free trial period or limited number of free searches)
An AI-powered research platform that analyzes and provides citation context for scientific papers, helping researchers evaluate the credibility and impact of scholarly articles. The scite database contains over 1.2 billion citations and 185 million full-text articles. Students can ask research questions in plain language and get answers directly from the full text of research articles. A browser extension enables users to see Smart Citations anywhere they are reading a scientific article online.
Elicit
Elicit uses language models to help you automate research workflows, like parts of literature review. Elicit can find relevant papers without perfect keyword match, summarize takeaways from the paper specific to your question, and extract key information from the papers. While answering questions with research is the main focus of Elicit, there are also other research tasks that help with brainstorming, summarization, and text classification.
An AI tool designed for literature searches, based on a detailed research question in natural language. Unlike typical citation mapping tools, it leverages both LLMs and citation mapping techniques for literature discovery. It categorizes all articles into a few subject categories, allowing researchers to navigate the literature more efficiently and focus on specific aspects relevant to their question.
This visualization tool allows users to submit a paper, then it will create a graphic chart of similar papers allowing you to visualize trends. It includes a Prior Works feature to trace earlier works, Derivative Works to find literature reviews, and State of the Art Works to find subsequent papers.
A search engine that uses AI to extract, aggregate, and distill findings from research articles. Limited scope but you can ask it research questions, including on questions on relationships between concepts, yes/no questions, and the effects of a concept. Has LESS than what is available through the library databases.
Common applications of artificial intelligence in education include writing support, intelligent tutoring systems, summarizing tools, quiz-generating tools, and accessibility for students with differing needs.
Copilot is an AI assistant, allowing you to upload or create files, ask questions, collaborate on content, and works with Teams, Outlook, Word, PowerPoint, and Excel when you sign in with your The Chicago School email and password. This enterprise level account provides more privacy, and compliance, ensuring your data is protected. See our Co-Pilot page for more information on how to log in to your school account.
ChatGPT is the original GenAI tool that supports learning by helping students brainstorm ideas, explain complex concepts, and practice critical thinking through conversation.
Claude is similar to ChatGPT, but their creating company, Anthropic, has a strong focus on developing GenAI with safety and a human focus, and does not train future models on your data. Great for learning, analyzing, researching, and creating content.
Doctrina features a quiz maker, exam generator, study notes, a speech tutor, and more, which makes it a great tool for study sessions.
AI-powered research and writing assistant that works with the sources you upload. Upload documents and NotebookLM will answer detailed questions or surface key insights. Convert complex material into easy-to-understand formats, such as podcasts, and add key resources that are shareable to others.
Bonus Bets:
This AI meeting assistant records audio, writes notes, automatically captures slides, and generates summaries.
Great for ELL students in particular, Quillbot offers a paraphraser, translator, summarizer, citation generator, plagiarism and AI detectors, and more.
GenAI tools for image and video creation enable users to generate visuals or animations from text prompts, making them useful for presentations, educational content, and creative projects. While these tools offer powerful creative potential, it's important to consider ethical use, copyright limitations, and content accuracy.
Also integrated into ChatGPT, DALL-E 3 allows you to create accurate and compelling images from your ideas, using simple or detailed prompts.
Midjourney creates images from natural language prompts and allows you to upload images to create new content based on your original image. Users are able to create animated content from still images with a monthly subscription.
Sora creates realistic and imaginative video from your text instructions and can generate videos up to a minute long while maintaining visual quality and adherence to your prompt.
Create studio-quality videos with AI avatars and voiceovers in 140+ languages by creating or uploading a script or slide deck. Share your video to collaborate with others.
GenAI tools for audio and music creation enable users to generate voiceovers, compose original music, and enhance sound quality with minimal technical expertise. These tools are valuable for content creators, educators, and researchers seeking to produce professional audio for videos, podcasts, or presentations.
Create high-quality podcasts and professional sounding voiceovers. You can enhance your speech by removing background noise and echo, or record podcasts.
AIVA is a music generation assistant that lets you create new songs in over 250 different styles. You can create new songs, upload audios for editing, and with the Pro Plan, you can even retain the copyright to your creations.
The leading voice generator tool, Eleven Labs offers text to speech, speech to text, dubbing, voice cloning, and, great for students, a reader that converts uploaded documents, pdfs, websites, or other text into audio, with the ability to choose your own voice.
Create realistic audio with Murf's AI voice generator built on an ethical text to speech model. Able to generate professional voiceovers for podcasts and training videos with over 200 different voice choices, Murf.ai also lets you control pace, tone, and pronunciation.
Agentic AI refers to AI systems that can independently make decisions and carry out multi-step tasks to achieve a goal—such as an AI assistant that plans your research schedule, finds relevant sources, and drafts a summary with minimal guidance.
Manus is an autonomous AI agent capable of independently completing complex, multi-step tasks such as data analysis, research synthesis, or project planning—making it particularly promising for higher education settings. For example, users can ask Manus to organize research, summarize findings, analyze data, structure written work, or generate visual reports all from a single high-level prompt.
If you discover a new tool you love, email us and let us know!
