The Chicago School Library: Navigating Misinformation and Disinformation: Identify Misinformation: Fact Checking Resources

Fact Checking Links

FactCheck.org
A product of the Annenberg Public Policy Center, this site is terrific for checking up on political claims.
Snopes.com
One of the oldest debunking sites on the Internet, Snopes.com focuses on urban legends, news stories and memes. the also cite their sources at the end of each debunking.
Politifact
The Pulitzer Prize-winning Politifact researches the claims of politicians and checks their accuracy.
SourceWatch.org
"SourceWatch profiles the activities of front groups, PR spinners, industry-friendly experts, industry-funded organizations, and think tanks trying to manipulate public opinion on behalf of corporations or government. "
Tin Eye
Check images to see if they have been altered or misidentified to fit a piece of fake news.
The Washington Post Fact-Checker
While focused primarily on political facts, it covers specific claims in-depth and with plenty of cross-referencing.
AP Fact Check
From the Associated Press, AP fact checkers combat misinformation by debunking false and misleading claims.
Duke Reporter's Lab
This resource from Duke University features both fact checking on recent news and a database of global fact checking websites.
Lead Stories
"Fact checking at the speed of likes since 2015," Lead Stories is an award winning fact checking website that actively monitors misinformation on the web and hunts for trending stories, images, videos and posts that contain false information in order to fact check them as quickly as possible.
Media Bias / Fact Check
The most comprehensive media bias resource on the internet, Media Bias / Fact check currently contains information on the bias of 8500+ media sources, journalists, and politicians.
NPR Fact Check
Fact checking from National Public Radio's news section.

Fact Checking: Science and Medicine

Retraction Watch
Reports on retractions of peer-reviewed scientific journal articles.
SciCheck
FactCheck.org’s SciCheck feature focuses exclusively on false and misleading scientific claims that are made by partisans to influence public policy.

Other Resources

The Poynter Institute
The Poynter Institute develops resources for journalists and writers, plus offers resources on fact checking and media literacy for the general public.
AllSides
AllSides is a website that rates the bias of news stories and other articles, labeling them according to where they fit on a political spectrum from left to center to right.
Media Manipulation Initiative
"The Media Manipulation Initiative (MMI) examines how different groups use the participatory culture of the internet to turn the strengths of a free society into vulnerabilities, ultimately threatening expressive freedoms and civil rights." A good source for research reports on this topic.
Media Smarts
MediaSmarts has been developing digital media literacy programs and resources for Canadian homes, schools and communities since 1996, with their work falling into three main areas: education, public awareness, and research and policy.
News Literacy Project
The News Literacy Project, a nonpartisan education nonprofit founded in 2008, is building a national movement to create systemic change in American education to ensure all students are skilled in news literacy before they graduate high school, giving them the knowledge and ability to participate in civic society as well-informed, critical thinkers.

Getting Past Paywalls

A paywall is when you're asked to pay for an article online.

The best way to avoid paywalls is to use library databases. At the Chicago School Library, you can:

Access articles published in major U.S. newspapers such as The New York Times, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and many more through the U.S. Newsstream Database.
Access international newspapers through the International Newsstream database.
Find the full list of news databases at the Chicago School here.

Otherwise, you can also check out your public library! Public Libraries also often provide free access to major newspapers.

If the library does not have access to a source you need, grab that article title! Here's how to get full text for free.

Navigating Misinformation and Disinformation

Logical Fallacies and Misinformation

Known Fake, Parodic, and Misleading News Sites

Fact Checking Links

Fact Checking: Science and Medicine

Other Resources

Getting Past Paywalls