If you are planning to do research you need to use valid approaches and tools to set up your study, gather your data, and make sense of your findings.
Below you'll find links to key resources, guides and texts that will assist you in conducting research for your particular discipline including: books, software, and tools for collecting, managing, and analyzing data.
Navigate the menu on the left to view information and resources for qualitative and quantitative research methods.
SAGE Research Methods is a comprehensive and easy to search database, which includes books (including the Little Blue Books and Little Green Books series), encyclopedias, videos, articles, podcasts and more on research design and methodology.
Use Sage Research Methods to also explore Datasets, including step-by-step guides and sample data, or explore Cases where you can learn about methods application and research design with stories from researchers in the field.
SAGE also hosts Sage Research Methods Community, an online community with articles, methods workshops and more!
The following is a select list eBooks in the library related to of Research Methods in health sciences . Use OneSearch to find additional books, articles & other resources.
Quantitative Research Methodology in the Health Sciences
by
This book explains in a practical and dynamic way the relevant aspects of quantitative research methodology in health sciences. It explores research paradigms, the foundations of evidence-based clinical practice, the formulation, through different models, of the research question and objectives, definition of the scope of study, population and sample, and the classification of research variables.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research
by
The Sage Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research is a comprehensive and authoritative source on qualitative research methods. The Handbook compiles accessible yet vigorous academic contributions by respected academics from the fast-growing field of qualitative methods in health research and consists of: - A series of case studies in the ways in which qualitative methods have contributed to the development of thinking in fields relevant to policy and practice in health care. - A section examining the main theoretical sources drawn on by qualitative researchers. - A section on specific techniques for the collection of data. - A section exploring issues relevant to the strategic place of qualitative research in health care environments. The Sage Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research is an invaluable source of reference for all students, researchers and practitioners with a background in the health professions or health sciences.
A Guide to Performing Systematic Reviews of Health and Disease
by
Acknowledgements Preface 1 Introduction to Study Designs and Randomised Controlled Trials 2 Introduction to systematic reviews 3 Determine the research question 4 Select the studies 5 Extract the data 6 Analyse the data 7 Report the findings Appendix 1: Answers to Practice Questions
Designing Clinical Research
by
Designing Clinical Research has been extensively revised and continues to set the standard as a practical guide for doctors, nurses, pharmacists, and other health professionals involved in all forms of clinical, translational, and public health research. It presents advanced epidemiologic concepts in a reader-friendly way, and suggests common sense approaches to the challenging judgments involved in designing, funding, and implementing. New to this edition: Expanded and updated content in every chapter, with new material on: * non-inferiority trials for comparative effectiveness research * incidence-density case-control studies * confounding and effect modification * diagnostic test studies to inform prediction rules * ethical aspects of whole genome sequencing * automated data management approaches * new NIH grant-writing requirements Color format, and Electronic access, powered by Inkling(tm) as a free companion to the text * viewable through your browser or as a download to tablet or smartphone * the complete text with optimized navigation * note-sharing, highlighting and bookmarking capability * cross-linking of references and content * rapid search options linked to the new glossary
