The Chicago School Library: Artificial Intelligence (AI) Tools and Resources: Types of AI Tools

Introduction

There are numerous types of generative AI tools or apps that can generate text, images, video, music, speech, or even a blend of these. The flexibility of these tools provides new ways to create content, explore ideas or to synthesize information.

The list of tools listed provided on this page is by no means exhaustive. This page will be periodically updated as new tools become available. New developments are happening quickly however, so it's possible the tools listed may not be up-to-date.

AI Tools for Research

AI tools for research can help you discover new sources either similar to one you've already found or those relevant to your question or topic.

Note that these tools are NOT clear about the sources used in their applications, and cannot be solely relied upon for a comprehensive literature search. They are best used to supplement traditional methods of conducting literature reviews.

Google's NotebookLM

AI-powered research and writing assistant that works with the sources you upload. Upload documents and NotebookLM will answer detailed questions or surface key insights. Convert complex material into easy-to-understand formats and add key resources that is shareable to others.

Consensus
A search engine that uses AI to extract, aggregate, and distill findings from research articles. Limited scope but you can ask it research questions, including on questions on relationships between concepts, yes/no questions, and the effects of a concept. Has LESS than what is available through the library databases.
Elicit
Elicit uses language models to help you automate research workflows, like parts of literature review. Elicit can find relevant papers without perfect keyword match, summarize takeaways from the paper specific to your question, and extract key information from the papers. While answering questions with research is the main focus of Elicit, there are also other research tasks that help with brainstorming, summarization, and text classification.
ResearchRabbit
ResearchRabbit is a citation-based literature mapping tool that optimizes your time searching for references as you start planning your essay, minor project, or literature review. Research Rabbit scans for any publicly available source online and selects papers based on their similarities. However, it seems to only work for scholarly papers, and therefore is unlikely to find other sources of information that are not journal articles.
Connected Papers
This visualization tool allows users to submit a paper and it will create a graphic chart of similar papers allowing you to visualize trends. It includes a Prior Works feature to trace earlier works, Derivative Works to find literature reviews, and State of the Art Works to find subsequent papers.
Scite
Helps researchers better discover and understand research articles through Smart Citations—citations that display the context of the citation and describe whether the article provides supporting or contrasting evidence. Scite is used by student researchers from around the world and is funded in part by the National Science Foundation and the National Institute on Drug Abuse of the National Institutes of Health.
Sum It Up

Get an instant summary of any text, article content (URL) or song for free.

AI Tools for Learning & Development

Best Bets:

AlphaCode
AlphaCode uses transformer-based language models to generate code at an unprecedented scale, and then smartly filters to a small set of promising programs.
ChatGPT
For those curious to try ChatGPT, this site provides a link to do so. ChatGPT is trained to interact in a conversational way. The dialogue format makes it possible for ChatGPT to answer followup questions, admit its mistakes, challenge incorrect premises, and reject inappropriate requests.

Note there are different versions: The paid subscription version of Chat GPT (4.0) may provide more accurate results (but always verify!)
ChatGPT Prompt Genius
Discover, share, import, and use the best prompts for ChatGPT & save your chat history locally.
ChatGPT Tool for Writing Open Educational Resources
There is a new #chatgpt #ai assist plugin for the Wax Word Processor. 100% Open Source. Integrating now into CokoDocs and other Coko apps. https://waxjs.net https://coko.foundation https://cokodocs.net #opensource #innovation #publishing
Counterargument Generator
An AI tool designed to help generate counterarguments to a statement or assertion.
DataSeer
Analyze and extract the data you need from diagrams & datasheets: DataSeer provides automated visualization software that digitizes unstructured data trapped in 2D images and creates a digital twin database with API access.
Explainpaper
Characterizing itself as "a better way to read papers" Explainpaper allows users to upload a paper, highlight confusing text, and Explalnpaper will provide an explanation.
Futurepedia AI Tools Directory
This site contains a collection of AI tools and claims to be "the largest AI tool directory, updated daily."
Grantable
Upload existing grant proposals and writing to train the AI. Input a question or prompt from an RFP. Let Grantable AI draft answers for you to approve using your previous answers.
Humata
Summarize lengthy papers and turn complex technical papers into simply explained summaries. Automatically create new writing based on your file.
Iris.ai
A comprehensive platform for research processing: smart search and a wide range of smart filters, reading list analysis, auto-generated summaries, autonomous extraction and systematizing of data.
Lateral
Lateral allows you to import papers relevant to your topic and then finds similar ones that match those.
Mainstay
This AI system features automated two-way chatbot messaging that sends students timely reminders of course requirements, customized feedback on progress, weekly digests with due dates, encouragement and support during exam time and quizzes offering practice exams.
Otter
This AI meeting assistant records audio, writes notes, automatically captures slides, and generates summaries.
Paper Digest
Paper Digest is an AI tool that distills a research paper into a three-minute read, allowing readers to quickly grasp the core ideas of a paper.
Perplexity
This free AI software operates in a manner similar to ChatGPT but it is not as popular so you may not have to wait as long to access it.
R Discovery
R Discovery provides readers with the top 3 papers to read every day without having to search for them day-in day-out. It presents the key highlights of the papers upfront for you so that you only spend time reading full texts where it’s absolutely worth it.
Scispace Copilot
This AI tool summarizes scientific papers to reduce time spent reading.
Semantic Scholar
An academic search engine that utilizes artificial intelligence methods to provide relevant results and tools to filter them .
Snowball
Snowball allows users to quickly find and filter through papers using the snowballing method. Start with a core collection of papers, and find more by going through their citations and references.
There's An AI For That
This is an AI aggregator site that features thousands of AI tools and a searchable index.
TutorAI
Type a topic in the search box and it will create a course for you.
Whisper AI
Whisper is a free speech-to-text tool that allows you to transcribe audio into text.
You.com
This tool allows you to search, chat, and create with AI.

AI for Art/ Image Creation

Bing Image Creator
Image Creator generates AI images based on your text.
DALL-E
DALL·E 2 is an AI system that can create images and art from a description in natural language.
Dreamstudio
DreamStudio provides Ai image generation with many customizations. Currently offers a free trial.
Starry ÁI
Generate art simply by describing what you want to see and this artificial intelligence tool transforms your words into art.

AI for Audio

Eleven Labs

Realistic Text to Speech and Voice Cloning software for creators and publishers seeking the ultimate tools for storytelling.

Audio.ai

Features include advanced noise removal, echo reduction, and auto volume control.

AI Mastering

Easy to use, improves sound quality automatically, and balances loudness and dynamic range.

AI for Photo Editing

Adobe Photoshop for a full-featured photo editing and design app
Luminar Neo for an AI-powered photo editor
Canva for an AI-powered design app
Pixlr for an easy-to-use online AI editor
Lensa for a mobile AI photo editor

AI Detection Tools

Note:

These detectors result in both false negatives and false positives, which can result in tagging a student paper as written by AI when it wasn't.

In addition, if your native language isn't English, these tools will often tag your writing as written by AI. See GPT detectors are biased against non-native English writers - Weixin Liang, et al.

More information

Nobody wins in a academic integrity arms race - The Chronicle of Higher Ed
Making ChatGPT detectors part of our education system prioritizes surveillance over trust - George Veletsianos, professor of education at Royal Roads University
What to do if you are falsely accused of cheating with AI - Dr. Lydon Walker, YouTube
Vanderbilt University's Guidance on AI Detection and Why We’re Disabling Turnitin’s AI Detector

AICheatCheck
This company claims that its tool offers a reliable solution for professors, teachers, and universities to verify the authenticity of students' work. By analyzing sentence structure and readability, this tool aims to accurately detect the presence of a GPT model, ensuring academic integrity in the age of AI
AI Text Classifier
The AI Text Classifier is a fine-tuned GPT model that predicts how likely it is that a piece of text was generated by AI from a variety of sources, such as ChatGPT.
CheckforAI
This tool provides AI detection to help ensure the authenticity of written work. It uses Open AI's Roberta-base model for GPT detection and a custom model to reduce false readings. It is free to use and analyze text, files, and documents
Content At Scale AI Detector
Free Chat GPT detector works at a deeper level than a generic AI classifier and detects robotic sounding content.
Copyleaks AI Content Detector
This software claims to be 99% accurate in detecting AI-generated content.
Crossplag AI Content Detector
This AI Detector is trained to precisely predict the origin of the text by using a combination of machine learning algorithms along with natural language processing techniques.
Detect GPT
Detect GPT is a Chrome extension that scans the content of pages online to detect if it has been generated by AI. It shows a colored icon to indicate whether the content is AI-generated or not, and can also be used in a form to paste any content and check its authenticity.
Free AI Content Detector
This state-of-the-art free AI content detector tool will help you detect AI-generated content in all types of text, including articles, blog posts, and more.
GPTKit
Using a multi-model approach, this tool aims to be able to identify and classify text as either human- or machine-generated.
GPT Zero
Simple checker for AI detection
Iluminarty Is it an AI or a human artist that created your image? Detect AI generated images, synthetic, tampered images and Deepfake.
Open AI Classifier for Indicating AI-Written Text
This classifier is trained to distinguish between text written by a human and text written by AIs from a variety of providers.
Originality.AI Plagiarism Checker and AI Detector
Originality claims to be the most accurate AI (Chat GPT, GPT-2, GPT-3, GPT-4), Bard and the only Paraphrase Detection (quillbot)) Content Detection tool on the market.

Ai Tool Trackers

Generative AI Product Tracker
The Generative AI Product Tracker lists generative AI products that are either marketed specifically towards postsecondary faculty or students or appear to be actively in use by postsecondary faculty or students for teaching, learning, or research activities.

Artificial Intelligence (AI) Tools and Resources