The Chicago School Library: Quantitative Research Methods : Data

General Resources

Data Collection: Methods, Ethical Issues and Future Directions by Susan Elswick (Editor) This book presents a broad and dynamic perspective on data collection practices across multiple disciplines. The contributors identify potential ethical concerns, and describe future directions for addressing these issues. Furthermore, this book provides the reader with details about recent and possible future advances in the use of data collection practices within the fields of healthcare, social and behavioral sciences, digital survivor work, crisis work, computer technology/needs assessment development, and the field of hospitality management. Each chapter provides the reader with direct insight into these multiple fields of practice. The contributing authors are experts in their disciplines, and provide rich perspectives to the audience. Chapters provide descriptions regarding the data collection methods utilized in each field, and the best implications for data practices and future work within these fields.
ISBN: 9781536100891
Publication Date: 2017

The Chicago School Library Guide on Research Data Management
Guidance on research data management including planning, organizing, storing data and more.
Case Study: Challenges in Using Online Data Collection for Quantitative Survey Research
This case study documents the experience of a novice researcher in her dissertation process.
Siu, B., (2021) Data Collection Strategies
From Sage Skills, this resource provides an overview and outlines types of data collection methods,

Sage Research Methods includes a number of videos and other resources on different aspects of data collection management.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
World's largest archive of digital social science data. Topics include substance abuse, criminal justice, and aging.
Sage Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window
Over 350 datasets using data from real research, designed to support the teaching and independent learning of data analysis techniques.
Dataverse Project This link opens in a new window
Allows users to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data via an open-source web application. Researchers, journals, data authors, publishers, data distributors, and affiliated institutions all receive academic credit and web visibility.

Data.gov A search portal for government data.
Current Population Survey (CPS) The CPS is a monthly survey of labor force characteristics. The March Supplement to the CPS, the Annual Social and Economic Supplement, gives data on income, poverty, and health insurance for the country.
General Society Survey (GSS) The longest-running project of the National Opinion Research Center (NORC), GSS contains demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions with many core questions going back to the survey’s inception, 1972.
re3data An international, interdisciplinary registry of research data repositories.
Open Science Framework A free and open-source web application. Provides all researchers with a mechanism to organize, collaborate, share, and store components of their research projects.
Google Datasets Search Google's search engine for datasets.
UN Data A compendium of datasets from the United Nations
Global Open Data Index An index of openly available government data from around the world