Once you have collected your data you'll need to analyze this to see if it confirms or disproves your hypothesis.
Some resources to help:
The library also has a number of books on different aspects of quantitative analysis. Use OneSearch to find books and other information, or browse select titles listed below:
Analyzing Quantitative Data: An Introduction for Social Researchers by
A user-friendly, hands-on guide to recognizing and conducting proper research techniques in data collection Offering a unique approach to numerical research methods, Analyzing Quantitative Data: An Introduction for Social Researchers presents readers with the necessary statistical applications for carrying out the key phases of conducting and evaluating a research project. The book guides readers through the steps of data analysis, from organizing raw data to utilizing descriptive statistics and tests of significance, drawing valid conclusions, and writing research reports. The author successfully provides a presentation that is accessible and hands-on rather than heavily theoretical, outlining the key quantitative processes and the use of software to successfully draw valid conclusions from gathered data. In its discussion of methods for organizing data, the book includes suggestions for coding and entry into spreadsheets or databases while also introducing commonly used descriptive statistics and clarifying their roles in data analysis. Next, inferential statistics is explored in-depth with explanations of and instructions for performing chi-square tests, t-tests, analyses of variance, correlation and regression analyses, and a number of advanced statistical procedures. Each chapter contains explanations of when to use the tests described, relevant formulas, and sample computations. The book concludes with guidance on extracting meaningful conclusions from statistical tests and writing research reports that describe procedures and analyses. Throughout the book, Statistical Resources for SPSS® sections provide fundamental instruction for using SPSS® to obtain the results presented. Where necessary, the author provides basic theoretical explanations for distributions and background information regarding formulas. Each chapter concludes with practice problems, and a related website features derivations of the book's formulas along with additional resources for performing the discussed processes. Analyzing Quantitative Data is an excellent book for social sciences courses on data analysis and research methods at the upper-undergraduate and graduate levels. It also serves as a valuable reference for applied statisticians and practitioners working in the fields of education, medicine, business and public service who analyze, interpret, and evaluate data in their daily work.
Analysing Quantitative Survey Data for Business and Management Students by
In Analysing Quantitative Survey Data, Jeremy Dawson introduces you to the key elements of analysing quantitative survey data using classical test theory, the measurement theory that underlies the techniques described in the book. The methodological assumptions, basic components and strengths and limitations of this analysis are explained and with the help of illustrative examples, you are guided through how to conduct the key procedures involved, including reliability analysis, exploratory and confirmatory factor analysis. Ideal for Business and Management students reading for a Master's degree, each book in the series may also serve as reference books for doctoral students and faculty members interested in the method. Part of SAGE's Mastering Business Research Methods series, conceived and edited by Bill Lee, Mark N. K. Saunders and Vadake K. Narayanan and designed to support researchers by providing in-depth and practical guidance on using a chosen method of data collection or analysis.
Statistics Translated: A Step-by-Step Guide to Analyzing and Interpreting Data by
Roping the reader in with humor and real-world case examples presented as mysteries to be solved, this engaging text has been updated with new cases, the latest version of SPSS, and new coverage of multivariate analysis of variance. Steven R. Terrell prepares students and practitioners to become informed consumers of statistics so that they can make decisions based on data, and understand decisions others have made. He identifies six simple steps and guides readers to master them--from identifying a researchable problem to stating a hypothesis; identifying independent and dependent variables; and selecting, computing, and interpreting appropriate statistical tests. All techniques are demonstrated both manually and with the help of SPSS software. New to This Edition *All software instructions and examples are updated to SPSS Version 25. *Expanded chapter on the analysis of variance (ANOVA)--now covers multivariate ANOVA. *New and revised examples and quiz items pertaining to a broader range of fields, such as business, information systems, and medical sciences, along with education and psychology. Pedagogical Features *Examples of SPSS screenshots used for analyzing data. *User-friendly cautionary notes, "Putting it All Together" recaps, and alerts, such as "notice the effect size" or "check the direction of the mean scores." *End-of-chapter "Quiz Time" exercises that guide students to answer intriguing questions like whether working from home increases productivity, or whether age affects how long it takes to complete a doctoral degree. *Lists of key terms and formulas in each chapter, plus end-of-book glossary.
Introduction to Quantitative Data Analysis in the Behavioral and Social Sciences by
Guides readers through the quantitative data analysis process including contextualizing data within a research situation, connecting data to the appropriate statistical tests, and drawing valid conclusions Introduction to Quantitative Data Analysis in the Behavioral and Social Sciences presents a clear and accessible introduction to the basics of quantitative data analysis and focuses on how to use statistical tests as a key tool for analyzing research data. The book presents the entire data analysis process as a cyclical, multiphase process and addresses the processes of exploratory analysis, decision-making for performing parametric or nonparametric analysis, and practical significance determination. In addition, the author details how data analysis is used to reveal the underlying patterns and relationships between the variables and connects those trends to the data's contextual situation. Filling the gap in quantitative data analysis literature, this book teaches the methods and thought processes behind data analysis, rather than how to perform the study itself or how to perform individual statistical tests. With a clear and conversational style, readers are provided with a better understanding of the overall structure and methodology behind performing a data analysis as well as the needed techniques to make informed, meaningful decisions during data analysis. The book features numerous data analysis examples in order to emphasize the decision and thought processes that are best followed, and self-contained sections throughout separate the statistical data analysis from the detailed discussion of the concepts allowing readers to reference a specific section of the book for immediate solutions to problems and/or applications. Introduction to Quantitative Data Analysis in the Behavioral and Social Sciences also features coverage of the following: * The overall methodology and research mind-set for how to approach quantitative data analysis and how to use statistics tests as part of research data analysis * A comprehensive understanding of the data, its connection to a research situation, and the most appropriate statistical tests for the data * Numerous data analysis problems and worked-out examples to illustrate the decision and thought processes that reveal underlying patterns and trends * Detailed examples of the main concepts to aid readers in gaining the needed skills to perform a full analysis of research problems * A conversational tone to effectively introduce readers to the basics of how to perform data analysis as well as make meaningful decisions during data analysis Introduction to Quantitative Data Analysis in the Behavioral and Social Sciences is an ideal textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level research method courses in the behavioral and social sciences, statistics, and engineering. This book is also an appropriate reference for practitioners who require a review of quantitative research methods. Michael J. Albers, Ph.D., is Professor in the Department of English at East Carolina University. His research interests include information design with a focus on answering real-world questions, the presentation of complex information, and human-information interaction. Dr. Albers received his Ph.D. in Technical Communication and Rhetoric from Texas Tech University.
Analysing Quantitative Data: Variable-based and Case-based Approaches to Non-experimental Datasets by
This innovative book provides a fresh take on quantitative data analysis within the social sciences. It presents variable-based and case-based approaches side-by-side encouraging you to learn a range of approaches and to understand which is the most appropriate for your research. Using two multidisciplinary non-experimental datasets throughout, the book demonstrates that data analysis is really an active dialogue between ideas and evidence. Each dataset is returned to throughout the chapters enabling you to see the role of the researcher in action; it also showcases the difference between each approach and the significance of researchers' decisions that must be made as you move through your analysis. The book is divided into four clear sections: Data and their presentation Variable-based analyses Case-based analyses Comparing and combining approaches Clear, original and written for students this book should be compulsory reading for anyone looking to conduct non-experimental quantitative data analysis.
There are a lot of different statistical methodologies for different types of problems or different data structures or different research designs. This video provides a very high level introduction to some generic groups of data analysis techniques.
This video discusses the preparation of quantitative data for statistical analysis, including an example of coding and consideration of special coding rules.
