International Psychology

About Journal Articles

Library databases (also known as "indexes") identify journal articles published on a particular topics. In addition to journal articles, many databases will also include records for book chapters, dissertations, and other reports.

Best Bets: Top Databases for Journal Articles in International Psychology

Start your research here:

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Provided by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Journals in sociology including topics such as gender identity, marriage and family, demographics, political sociology, religion, and socio-cultural anthropology.
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Access to unmatched evidence-based and peer-reviewed full-text content from top biomedical journals. Covers an extensive range of subjects, including biomedicine, pre-clinical science, health policy development, and much more. Indexed using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).

Additional Database Recommendations

Subject Databases

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Publications focusing on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including media, health sciences, political science, and more.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular LGBTQIA+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources. Includes monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos, plus a specialized LGBTQIA+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
PEP: Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative source of peer-reviewed, psychoanalytic literature available. Includes the complete 24 volumes of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, as well as core texts by Winnicott, Meltzer, Klein, and others.

Topics in Psychology may overlap with other complementary subjects. It may be useful to search within a multidisciplinary database/index, or other subject specific databases.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Includes many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Encompasses four multidisciplinary resources: ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global, and Academic Video Online.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Provides detailed citation analysis and searching.

Global Databases

Center for Global Development Open Access Publications This link opens in a new window
Publications from the Center for Global Development. Topics include global poverty and innovative economic research.
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Factual information and maps for hundreds of world entities. Topics include the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide (FSSW) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
Timely access to newswire content available from around the globe and expanding news archives.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Regional U.S. and international newspapers, newswires, columns, and other sources.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
The most recent news content outside of the US and Canada and archives containing newspapers, newswires, and news sites.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Statistical resources compiled by the United Nations Statistics and Population Divisions as well as by other UN agencies.
United Nations Official Documents System This link opens in a new window
Digital access to official UN documents from 1993 to present.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
Books, reports, working papers, technical papers, serials, and other research output from the World Bank.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
Social, economic, and environmental statistics for all countries of the world dating from 1960.

Region/Country Specific Databases

Regional Databases

African Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent from 1906 to present.
Australia & New Zealand Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals locally published by scholarly and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand.
Continental Europe Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals locally published by scholarly and educational institutions in European countries.
East & South Asia Database This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary academic journals published by scholarly and educational institutions in East and South Asian countries.
East Europe, Central Europe Database This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary academic journals published by scholarly and educational institutions in East and Central European countries.
Latin America & Iberian Database This link opens in a new window
Ongoing academic journals locally published by scholarly and educational institutions in Spain, Portugal, and many Latin American countries.
LILACS: Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences This link opens in a new window
Literature related to the health sciences that has been published in countries in Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982. Contains almost 700 journals with abstracts in English, Spanish, or Portuguese.
Middle East & Africa Database This link opens in a new window
Ongoing academic journals published by scholarly and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries.
UK & Ireland Database This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary academic journals published in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Country Specific Databases

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian reference and current events database. Includes current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Over 190 newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.
India Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing access to full text scholarly journals published in India.
Trove Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Australian newspapers and magazines from 1802 to present.
Turkey Database This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary academic journals published in Türkiye.

Browse Journals Related to International Psychology

International Psychology Journals

Top Journals in Psychology

The following journals are ranked with the highest "impact factor" in Psychology: (data from Scimago SJR)

Last Updated: Jun 28, 2024 11:36 AM
URL: https://library.thechicagoschool.edu/internationalpsychology
Print Page

Subjects: Psychology