OneSearch searches across most, but not all library resources. Your search results will show items that are only available full-text, in addition to physical items at The Chicago School campuses.
To search beyond these initial results, click on "expand your search" at the top of your search results.
By expanding your search, your results will display items available outside of the library collections, or those that are not available full text, in addition to full text items. Expanding your search also provides a way to request items the library does not have access to though interlibrary loan, a free service through the The Chicago School Library.
TIP: To avoid bias, do not rely solely on searching in OneSearch. To ensure your literature review is comprehensive and includes the most perspectives on your research question, it's best use more than one search tool, and more than one database.
Databases are often organized by subject (for example, Psychology, Business, Medicine). Specialized subject databases can help you search more precisely in your field.
Find subject databases by clicking the Databases A-Z link on the Chicago School Library homepage.
On the databases page, sort your results by subject to browse a suggested list of databases in your field. The library's Research Guides are also helpful in identifying the best, or most commonly used databases in your field.
Again, make sure to search multiple databases to ensure you're finding the most perspectives on your research question.
Google Scholar is a search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and scholarly articles posted on the web. Some articles are full text, but not all. To connect your Google Scholar results to full text in The Chicago School library, use the "library links" feature in the settings. Otherwise, use The Chicago School interlibrary loan services to obtain articles that are not available in the library or on the web.
Pros of using Google Scholar for a Literature Review:
Cons of using Google Scholar for a Literature Review:
Government and other organizations may provide relevant reports, briefings, white or issue papers, case studies, or other content. This kind of literature is often called 'grey literature'.
Dissertations and theses may be helpful as they are form of scholarly communication. For example, dissertations may:
Often found on national, state and or local governmental web sites, but also through organizations such as Pew Research Center, or international organizations such the United Nations, or World Health Organization, or even professional associations.
Try searching the Chicago School Library Databases A-Z link, under "Statistics and Data" for links to websites that may contain relevant statistics and data.
