IntroductionBackground information provides a general overview of a research topic, including important terms and concepts, relevant names of people or places, and dates of specific events, etc.
Finding background information can help you:
21st Century Psychology by 
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by Click on the volume needed below, or go to PsycBOOKS to search for the entry you are looking for. Type "Encyclopedia of Psychology" and choose to search within "Book title-PUBLICATION" if you want to limit your search to the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Encyclopedia of Psychology, Volume 1 by 
Encyclopedia of Psychology, Volume 2 by Encyclopedia of Psychology, Volume 3 by Encyclopedia of Psychology, Volume 4 by Encyclopedia of Psychology, Volume 5 by Encyclopedia of Psychology, Volume 6 by Encyclopedia of Psychology, Volume 7 by Encyclopedia of Psychology, Volume 8 by 
APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology by
This five-volume handbook reflects the state-of-the-art in clinical psychology - science, practice, research, and training. It provides a comprehensive overview of: the history of clinical psychology, specialties and settings, theoretical and research approaches, assessment, treatment and prevention, psychological disorders, health and relational disorders, health promotion, educational paths, psychologists' development, ethics and standards, professional organisations, and future directions of clinical psychology. With content incorporating the editorial board's commitment to the themes of diversity, evidence-based practices, and international contributions, this addition to the APA Handbooks in Psychology#65533; series will be an essential resource for students, researchers, educators, and practitioners. The five volumes are: Volume 1: Roots and Branches Volume 2: Theory and Research Volume 3: Applications and Methods Volume 4: Psychopathology and Health Volume 5: Education and Profession
The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology by
The exponential growth of clinical psychology since the late 1960s can be measured in part by the extensive - perhaps exhaustive - literature on the subject. This proliferation of writing has continued into the new century, and the field has come to be defined as much by its many topics as itsmany voices.The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology synthesizes these decades of literature in one extraordinary volume. Comprising chapters from the foremost scholars in clinical psychology, the handbook provides even and authoritative coverage of the research, practice, and policy factors that combine toform today's clinical psychology landscape.In addition to core sections on topics such as training, assessment, diagnosis, and intervention, the handbook includes valuable chapters devoted to new and emerging issues in the clinical field, including heath care reforms, cultural factors, and technological innovations and challenges. Eachchapter offers a review of the most pertinent literature, outlining current issues and identifying possibilities for future research.Featuring two chapters by Editor David H. Barlow - one on changes during his own 40-year odyssey in the field, the other projecting ten themes for the future of clinical psychology - The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology is a landmark publication that is sure to serve as the field's benchmarkreference publication for years to come. It is an essential resource for students, clinicians, and researchers across the ever-growing clinical psychology community.
Encyclopedia of Computational Neuroscience by
The annual Computational Neuroscience Meeting (CNS) began in 1990 as a small workshop called Analysis and Modeling of Neural Systems. The goal of the workshop was to explore the boundary between neuroscience and computation. Riding on the success of several seminal papers, physicists had made "Neural Networks" fashionable, and soon the quantitative methods used in these abstract model networks started permeating the methods and ideas of experimental neuroscientists. Although experimental neurophysiological approaches provided many advances, it became increasingly evident that mathematical and computational techniques would be required to achieve a comprehensive and quantitative understanding of neural system function. "Computational Neuroscience" emerged to complement experimental neurophysiology. The Encyclopedia of Computational Neuroscience, published in conjunction with the Organization for Computational Neuroscience, will be an extensive reference work consultable by both researchers and graduate level students. It will be a dynamic, living reference, updatable and containing linkouts and multimedia content whenever relevant.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Lifespan Human Development by 
Encyclopedia of Human Development by 
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development by 
APA Handbook of the Psychology of Women (Vol. 1) by APA Handbook of the Psychology of Women (Vol. 2) by
As a formal field of study, the psychology of women has pushed the boundaries of traditional theory, produced breakthroughs in methodology, and built links to some of the most challenging problems of our time. It remains an intellectually vibrant and socially relevant area, including initiatives that not only have changed the epistemology of knowledge but also have expanded our understanding of ourselves and of the world. Across this two-volume set, chapter authors provide scholarly reviews and in-depth analyses of subjects within their areas of expertise. Themes of status and power inform many chapters. Volume 1 begins by outlining the emergence of the psychology of women and its connections with the women's movement. This is followed by feminist critiques of theory, descriptions of innovative methodologies, and discussions of difference and similarity, both between women and men and between gender and sexuality. The social and economic contexts surrounding these issues are reviewed, as are dichotomies sustained by sexism, stereotypes, and prejudice. Volume 1 concludes with chapters that address the uniquely intersecting components of individual experience. Volume 2 focuses on applied subjects. It begins with a section on psychological well-being, including therapeutic models of gender, feminist goals of empowerment, multicultural feminism, and the borderlands of gender identity. Following is a discussion of close relationships, including issues of intimacy, equity, and changing models of family. Victimization and narratives of victimhood are described next, as are leadership, community, politics, and women in the workplace. The volume concludes with a discussion of women's roles and agency throughout the world, with special attention given to human rights and reproductive justice.
APA Handbook of Sexuality and Psychology by 
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Psychology by 
APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology by 
The SAGE Handbook of Personality and Individual Differences by 
Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology by 
The Palgrave handbook of critical social psychology by 