LGBTQIA+ Psychology and Resources

AAAP’s goals are to increase the visibility of ace and aro identities, to provide resources on asexuality and aromanticism to professionals, and to support ace and aro members of society.

APA has made a significant contribution to the understanding of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex people since first dedicating staff time to these populations in 1987. Over the years, APA has produced many resources to educate the public, support the work of psychologists and inform public policy about LGBTQ people and their lives and health needs. This page provides many of those resources, organized by the primary audiences for which they are intended.

The Asexual Visibility and Education Network (AVEN) was founded in 2001 with two distinct goals: creating public acceptance and discussion of asexuality and facilitating the growth of an asexual community. Since that time they have grown to host the world’s largest asexual community, serving as an informational resource for people who are asexual and questioning, their friends and families, academic researchers and the press.

The BRC is the oldest national bi+ organization in the U.S. that advocates for bisexual visibility and raises awareness about bisexuality throughout the LGBT and straight communities.

A national prison abolitionist organization dedicated to abolishing the criminal punishment system and liberating LGBTQIA2S+ people and people living with HIV/AIDS who are affected by that system through advocacy, support, and organizing.

Established in 1971, the Gay and Lesbian Activists Alliance of Washington, DC (GLAA) is the oldest continuous LGBTQ+ rights organization in the US. Originally founded to secure LGBTQ+ rights peacefully through political engagement, GLAA's influence emerged during DC's first modern election.

The goal of the HRC is to ensure that all LGBTQ+ people, and particularly those who are trans, people of color and HIV+, are treated as full and equal citizens within our movement, across the U.S. and around the world.

Raising intersex visibility, empowering young intersex advocates and promoting laws and policies that protect intersex youth.

American civil rights organization that focuses on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) communities as well as people living with HIV/AIDS (PWAs) through impact litigation, societal education, and public policy work.

A civil rights organization dedicated to empowering Black lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people through visibility, advocacy, and education.

The National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice.

The National LGBTQ Task Force builds power, takes action, and creates change to achieve freedom, justice, and equity for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer people. As the progressive voice of the LGBTQ movement and the LGBTQ voice of the progressive movement, the National LGBTQ Task Force organizes people and money in pursuit of liberation for all.

ransgender Law Center (TLC) is the largest national trans-led organization advocating for a world in which all people are free to define themselves and their futures. Grounded in legal expertise and committed to racial justice, TLC employs a variety of community-driven strategies to keep transgender and gender nonconforming people alive, thriving, and fighting for liberation

The Trevor Project is the leading suicide prevention and crisis intervention nonprofit organization for LGBTQ young people, providing information & support to LGBTQ 
young people 24/7, all year round.

A collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York. The interviews are listed in chronological order. Each interview has a corresponding transcript available to download as a PDF.

Completed in 2020, this archived site digitized and made available online oral histories and testimony of same-sex and same-gender attracted women, inclusive of Two Spirit, queer, bisexual, and lesbian women, transmen, and others. Please note the link is slow to load due to archival nature.

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.

Founded in 1985, the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities. Doing this also serves to uncover and document our herstory previously denied to us by patriarchal historians in the interests of the culture that they served. The existence of the Archives will thus enable current and future generations to analyze and reevaluate the Lesbian experience.

Includes items in a variety of formats. Notable collections include Barbara Gittings and Kay Tobin Lahusen Gay History Papers and Photographs, Particular Voices: Portraits of Gay and Lesbian Writers, and The Emilio Sanchez Private Sketches.

Founded in 1952, ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives is one of the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. The digital collection is a sample of the archives holdings, and includes resources in a wide-variety of formats.

The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.

The Queer Resources Directory contains 25488 files about everything queer; the QRD is at http://www.qrd.org/, with mirrors all over the world.