Start here:SAGE Research Methods is a comprehensive and easy to search database, which includes:
Use Sage Research Methods to also explore Datasets, including step-by-step guides and sample data, or explore Cases where you can learn about methods application and research design with stories from researchers in the field.
SAGE also hosts Methodspace, an online community with articles and more and co-sponsors methods workshops with QSR (NVivo).
Designing Qualitative Research by
This concise introduction to qualitative research design will help you to think through the questions you need to ask when embarking on your research. Uwe Flick discusses each stage of the process of designing qualitative research,from turning an idea into a research question, selecting a sample, choosing an appropriate strategy, developing a conceptual framework and data source, and preparing for data collecting and analysis. This book can be used alongside other titles in the SAGE Qualitative Research Kit but can equally be used on its own. It is an invaluable companion to students and scholars embarking on research in in the social sciences, health, business and education.
Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation by
The bestselling guide to qualitative research, updated and expanded Qualitative Research is the essential guide to understanding, designing, conducting, and presenting a qualitative research study. This fourth edition features new material covering mixed methods, action research, arts-based research, online data sources, and the latest in data analysis, including data analysis software packages as well as narrative and poetic analysis strategies. A new section offers multiple ways of presenting qualitative research findings. The reader-friendly, jargon-free style makes this book accessible to both novice and experienced researchers, emphasizing the role of a theoretical framework in designing a study while providing practical guidance. Qualitative research reaches beyond the what, where, and when of quantitative analysis to investigate the why and how behind human behavior and the reasons that govern such behavior, but this presents a number of significant challenges. This guide is an invaluable reference for students and practitioners alike, providing the deep understanding that this sometimes difficult area of research requires to produce accurate results. The book contains a step-by-step guide to analyzing qualitative data and an addendum for graduate students with a template for a thesis, dissertation, or grant application. Build a strong foundation in qualitative research theory and application Design and implement effective qualitative research studies Communicate findings more successfully with clear presentation Explore data sources, data analysis tools, and the different types of research
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research Design by
Qualitative research design is continually evolving. It is not only more established in disciplines beyond the traditional social sciences in which it is a standard choice, but also just as impacted by the changes in what data, technologies, and approaches researchers are using. This Handbook takes readers through the foundational theories, functions, strategies, and approaches to qualitative research design, before showcasing how it negotiates different data and research environments and produces credible, actionable impact beyond the study. Containing contributions from over 90 top scholars from a range of social science disciplines, this Handbook is not just an anthology of different qualitative research designs and how/when to use them; it is a complete exploration of how and why these designs are shaped and how, why, and into what they are evolving. This is a valuable resource for Master's and PhD level students, faculty members, and researchers across a wide range of disciplines such as health, nursing, psychology, social work, sociology, and education. Volume One: Part I: Concepts of Designing Designs in Qualitative Research Part 2: Theories and Epistemological Contexts of Designing Qualitative Research Part 3: Elements of Designing Qualitative Research Part 4: Basic Designs and Research Strategies in Qualitative Research Part 5: Mixing Methods in Designing Qualitative Research Volume Two: Part 6: Designing Qualitative Research for Specific Kinds of Data Part 7: Designing Qualitative Online and Multimodal Research Part 8: Designing Qualitative Research for Specific Groups and Areas Part 9: Designing Qualitative Research in Disciplinary Fields Part 10: Designing Qualitative Research for Impact
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research, Second Edition presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview of the field of qualitative research. Divided into eight parts, the forty chapters address key topics in the field such as approaches to qualitative research (philosophical perspectives), narrative inquiry, field research, and interview methods, text, arts-based, and internet methods, analysis and interpretation of findings, and representation and evaluation. The handbook is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the disciplines, and the contributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchers as well as emerging scholars. This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the most experienced researchers. It serves as a user-friendly teaching tool suitable for a range of undergraduate or graduate courses, as well as individuals working on their thesis or other research projects. With a focus on methodological instruction, the incorporation of real-world examples and practical applications, and ample coverage of writing and representation, this volume offers everything readers need to undertake their own qualitative studies.
Qualitative Research for the Social Sciences by
Focusing on the integral role of the researcher, Qualitative Research for the Social Sciences uses a conversational writing style that draws readers into the excitement of the research process. Lichtman offers a balanced and nuanced approach, covering the full range of qualitative methodologies and viewpoints about the field, including coverage of social media as a tool to facilitate research or as a venue for study. After presenting theoretical concepts and a historical overview, Lichtman guides readers, step by step, through the research process, addressing issues of analyzing data, presenting completed research, and evaluating research. Real-world examples from across the social sciences provide both practical and theoretical information, helping readers understand abstract ideas and apply them to their own research.
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation by
Completing your Qualitative Dissertation fills an important gap in the qualitative research literature by specifically addressing the fast-growing practice of qualitative postgraduate dissertations in colleges and universities throughout the world. Many students struggle to complete qualitative research projects because the research itself is inherently messy. To address this challenge the authors have distilled decades of experience into a first-of-its-kind, highly practical reference for graduate students. At the heart of the book is a series of chapters that models the typical progression of a dissertation. Each chapter is illustrated by examples that give the reader an understanding of what the actual write-up would look like. Emphasis throughout the book is on conceptual understanding as it relates to the practical aspects involved in navigating the dissertation process.
The following recordings and power point slides are from the Chicago School Research Methodologies In Practice Micro-Credential Webinar Series: May 2022
Session 1: Qualitative Methodologies with Dr. Helen Crompton
Session 2: Action Research with Dr. Alysia Roehrig
Session 4: Mixed Methodologies with Dr. Meagan Arrastía-Chisholm
You can find all PowerPoints files here: 2022 Research Methodologies Webinars
To earn the Research Methodologies In Practice Micro-Credential, please watch all four recordings in the series and email your quiz responses to Dr. Kelly Torres, ktorres@thechicagoschool.edu or Dr. Aubrey Statti, astatti@thechicagoschool.edu
View Session 3 on Quantitative Methodologies with Dr. Umit Tokac here: Link to Session 3 Recording
Other sections on this page contain a sampling of the available works on qualitative research and mixed methods research, but there are many more. To search the library's One Search for ebooks, click on the links below.
General:
By Discipline:
