Introduction Background information provides a general overview of a research topic, including important terms and concepts, relevant names of people or places, and dates of specific events, etc. Finding background information can help you:
In-depth, high-level articles by scholars in business and management.
Organizational Culture and Leadership by
The book that defined the field, updated and expanded for today's organizations Organizational Culture and Leadership is the classic reference for managers and students seeking a deeper understanding of the inter-relationship of organizational culture dynamics and leadership. Author Edgar Schein is the 'father' of organizational culture, world-renowned for his expertise and research in the field; in this book, he analyzes and illustrates through cases the abstract concept of culture and shows its importance to the management of organizational change. This new fifth edition shows how culture has become a popular concept leading to a wide variety of research and implementation by various organizations and expands the focus on the role of national cultures in influencing culture dynamics, including some practical concepts for how to deal with international differences. Special emphasis is given to how the role of leadership varies with the age of the organization from founding, through mid-life to old age as the cultural issues vary at each stage. How culture change is managed at each stage and in different types of organizations is emphasized as a central concern of leader behavior.. This landmark book is considered the defining resource in the field. Drawing on a wide range of research, this fifth edition contains 25 percent new and revised material to provide the most relevant new concepts and perspectives alongside the basic culture model that has helped to define the field. Dig into assumptions and typologies to decipher organizational culture Learn how culture begins, thrives, or dies with leadership Manage cultural change effectively and appropriately Understand the leader's role in managing disparate groups The resurgence of interest in organizational culture has spurred an awakening in research, and new information is continuously coming to light. Outdated practices are being replaced by more effective methods, and the resulting shift affects organizations everywhere. Organizational Culture and Leadership is an essential resource for scholars, consultants and leaders seeking continuous improvement in the face of today's business realities.
The Handbook of Organizational Culture and Climate by
The Second Edition provides an overview of current research, theory and practice in this expanding field. The editorial team and the authors come from diverse professional and geographical backgrounds, and provide an unprecedented coverage of topics relating to both culture and climate of modern organizations.
The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior by 
The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Wellbeing by 
Organizational Behavior 4: From Theory to Practice by 
Sage encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology by 
Handbook of Psychology, Industrial and Organizational Psychology by
This award-winning twelve-volume reference covers every aspect of the ever-fascinating discipline of psychology and represents the most current knowledge in the field. This ten-year revision now covers discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology.
International Handbook of Work and Health Psychology by
Now in its third edition, this authoritative handbook offers a comprehensive and up-to-date survey of work and health psychology. Updated edition of a highly successful handbook Focuses on the applied aspects of work and health psychology New chapters cover emerging themes in this rapidly growing field Prestigious team of editors and contributors
