It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use reference materials to find background information. Reference books can help you:
Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
Identify and define unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
Find references to other books and articles on the subject
Find specific keywords to use in online searches
Best Bets: Forensic Psychology Reference
APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology, Vol. 1: Individual and situational influences in criminal and civil contexts by Brian L. Cutler; Patricia A. ZapfThe APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology consolidates and advances knowledge about the scientific foundations and practical application of psychology to law, the practice of law, and law-related policy. Drawing upon contemporary psychological research and practice, this Handbook provides a thorough, up-to-date, and far-reaching reference on forensic psychological issues that are important to researchers, practitioners and students in psychology, other social sciences and practice disciplines, and law. The Handbook is divided into 2 Volumes, each comprised of 3 sections: Volume 1 (Individual and Situational Influences in Criminal and Civil Contexts) Forensic Evaluation and Treatment in Criminal Cases Individual and Situational Predictors of Criminal Behavior Applications of Forensic Psychology in Civil Cases Volume 2 (Criminal Investigation, Adjudication, and Sentencing Outcomes) Victim and Offender Groups Criminal Investigations and Jury Trials Sentencing and Incarceration
Publication Date: 2014
APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology, Vol. 2: Criminal investigation, adjudication, and sentencing outcomes by Brian L. Cutler; Patricia A. ZapfThe APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology consolidates and advances knowledge about the scientific foundations and practical application of psychology to law, the practice of law, and law-related policy. Drawing upon contemporary psychological research and practice, this Handbook provides a thorough, up-to-date, and far-reaching reference on forensic psychological issues that are important to researchers, practitioners and students in psychology, other social sciences and practice disciplines, and law. The Handbook is divided into 2 Volumes, each comprised of 3 sections: Volume 1 (Individual and Situational Influences in Criminal and Civil Contexts) Forensic Evaluation and Treatment in Criminal Cases Individual and Situational Predictors of Criminal Behavior Applications of Forensic Psychology in Civil Cases Volume 2 (Criminal Investigation, Adjudication, and Sentencing Outcomes) Victim and Offender Groups Criminal Investigations and Jury Trials Sentencing and Incarceration
A revised new edition of one of the top references for forensic psychologists
Handbook of Forensic Assessment by Eric Y. Drogin; Frank M. Dattilio; Robert L. Sadoff; Thomas G. GutheilThe first handbook to explore forensic assessment from psychiatric and psychological perspectives "The editors have assembled a magnificent collaboration between psychiatrists and psychologists to bring forth critical knowledge and insight to the core competency of forensic assessment. This handbook is essential reading and a comprehensive resource for both newly minted and seasoned forensic practitioners." --Robert I. Simon, MD, Director, Program in Psychiatry and Law, Georgetown University School of Medicine "This long-awaited resource blows the dust off traditional standards, shakes the cobwebs out of our old ways of thinking, and shows the practical steps in producing work that will make sense to juries and withstand the most skillful cross-examination. . . . [T]here is no better resource." --Kenneth S. Pope, PhD, ABPP, Diplomate in Clinical Psychology; coauthor, Ethics in Psychotherapy and Counseling, Fourth Edition "From preparation to collection to interpretation to communication of the results, this excellent, comprehensive treasure shows how to conduct forensic assessments. Each splendid evidence-based chapter is presented from the collaboration between psychologists and psychiatrists. It is a must-have resource for forensic experts as well as general practitioners or anyone wishing to understand standard of care in forensic assessment." --Melba Vasquez, PhD, ABPP, 2011 American Psychological Association President The practitioner-oriented coverage in the Handbook of Forensic Assessment examines: The current state of psychology and psychiatry--including requisite clinical competencies, ethical guidelines, and considerations of multidisciplinary collaboration Various approaches to assessments in criminal and civil matters The principles of effective preparation, data collection, and interpretation, as well as communication for each special situation Topics including competence to stand trial, sexual offender evaluations, addictions, child abuse, and education Overarching practice issues, such as practice development, retention, compensation, consultation, and forensic treatment Includes sample reports that demonstrate the integrative potential of both psychology and psychiatry Incorporating a wealth of current and multidisciplinary research, the Handbook of Forensic Assessment is destined to become every mental health professional's most valuable one-stop reference for their forensic work.
Publication Date: 2011
Criminal Justice Reference Works
The Wiley International Handbook of Correctional Psychology by Devon L. L. Polaschek (Editor); Andrew Day (Editor); Clive R. Hollin (Editor)A two-volume handbook that explores the theories and practice of correctional psychology With contributions from an international panel of experts in the field, The Wiley International Handbook of Correctional Psychology offers a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the most relevant topics concerning the practice of psychology in correctional systems. The contributors explore the theoretical, professional and practical issues that are pertinent to correctional psychologists and other professionals in relevant fields. The Handbook explores the foundations of correctional psychology and contains information on the history of the profession, the roles of psychology in a correctional setting and examines the implementation and evaluation of various interventions. It also covers a range of topics including psychological assessment in prisons, specific treatments and modalities as well as community interventions. This important handbook: Offers the most comprehensive coverage on the topic of correctional psychology Contains contributions from leading experts from New Zealand, Australia, Europe, and North America Includes information on interventions and assessments in both community and imprisonment settings Presents chapters that explore contemporary issues and recent developments in the field Written for correctional psychologists, academics and students in correctional psychology and members of allied professional disciplines, The Wiley International Handbook of Correctional Psychology provides in-depth coverage of the most important elements of the field.
Publication Date: 2019
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Criminal Psychology by Robert D. Morgan (Editor)The SAGE Encyclopedia of Criminal Psychology will be a modern, interdisciplinary resource aimed at students and professionals interested in the intersection of psychology (e.g., social, forensic, clinical), criminal justice, sociology, and criminology. The interdisciplinary study of human behavior in legal contexts includes numerous topics on criminal behavior, criminal justice policies and legal process, crime detection and prevention, eyewitness identification, prison life, offender assessment and rehabilitation, risk assessment and management, offender mental health, community reintegration, and juvenile offending. The study of these topics has been increasing continually since the late 1800s, with people trained in many legal professions such as policing, social work, law, academia, mental health, and corrections. This will be a comprehensive work that will provide the most current empirical information on those topics of greatest concern to students who desire to work in these fields. This encyclopedia is a unique reference work that looks at criminal behavior primarily through a scientific lens. With over 500 entries the book brings together top empirically driven researchers and clinicians across multiple fields--psychology, criminology, social work, and sociology--to explore the field.
Publication Date: 2019
The Wiley Handbook on Offenders with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities by William R. Lindsay (Editor); John L. Taylor (Editor)The essential resource to the most recent research and practice on offenders with intellectual and developmental disabilities The Wiley Handbook on Offenders with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities is a comprehensive compendium to the research and evidence supporting clinical work with people with intellectual and developmental disabilities who offend or are at risk of offending. With contributions from an international panel of experts, the text reviews the most recent developments in the assessment, treatment and management of various types of offenders with intellectual disabilities including violent offenders, sexual offenders and firesetters. The text also explores the developments in research on risk assessment and management of people with intellectual disabilities who offend or are at risk of offending. In addition, the handbook also contains information on developments in research into the epidemiology of offending in this population, pathways into services and the trajectories of the criminal careers of those who will later go on to offend. This important resource: Includes contributions from expert international researchers and practitioners in the field Describes a range of theoretical, conceptual and ethical assessments as well as treatment and service development issues that are relevant practitioners in clinical practice Presents the ethical-legal considerations that offer a conceptual framework for the handbook Sets out a variety of the most current evidence-based interventions Written for psychologists, psychiatrists, nurses and other mental health professionals, and those in education and training, The Wiley Handbook on Offenders with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities offers a much-needed resource on the latest developments in the field.
Publication Date: 2018
APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice by Kirk HeilbrunThe APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice consolidates and advances knowledge about the legal, scientific, and applied foundations of the juvenile justice system. In addition to an overview of the area, it contains chapters in the following sections: Relevant Law (focusing on important legislation and on U.S. Supreme Court decisions from Kent and Gault to Eddings, Roper, Graham, and Miller-Jackson, and on the relevant legal theory of preventive justice for dolescents) Human Development (describing research on adolescent development and brain development as they apply to behavior in the juvenile justice context) Patterns of Offending (including evidence about offending in juveniles and the persistence vs. desistance into adulthood) Risk Factors for Offending (evidence about risk factors for juvenile offending including Risk-Need-Responsivity theory, juvenile psychopathy, substance abuse, gangs, and trauma/adverse experience, as well as threat assessment and bullying prevention in schools) Forensic Assessment (assessing risk, needs/amenability, and sophistication-maturity as part of legal decisions on commitment, transfer, and reverse transfer, as well as legal decisions on Miranda waiver capacity and competence to stand trial) Interventions (evidence on risk-reducing interventions, both in the community and in residential placement, including for specialized offending of sexual offenders) Training and Ethics (including the updated MacArthur curriculum on adolescents in the juvenile justice system and an analysis of the ethical issues particular to juvenile justice)
Publication Date: 2015
Social Justice Reference
The Oxford Handbook of Social Psychology and Social Justice by Phillip L. HammackThe twentieth century witnessed not only the devastation of war, conflict, and injustice on a massive scale, but it also saw the emergence of social psychology as a discipline committed to addressing these and other social problems. In the 21st century, however, the promise of socialpsychology remains incomplete. We have witnessed the reprise of authoritarianism and the endurance of institutionalized forms of oppression such as sexism, racism, and heterosexism across the globe.Edited by Phillip L. Hammack, The Oxford Handbook of Social Psychology and Social Justice reorients social psychology toward the study of social injustice in real-world settings. The volume's contributing authors effectively span the borders between cultures and disciplines to better highlight newand emerging critical paradigms that interrogate the very real consequences of social injustice.United in their belief in the possibility of liberation from oppression, with this Handbook, Hammack and his contributors offer a stirring blueprint for a new, important kind of social psychology today.
Publication Date: 2018
The Praeger Handbook of Social Justice and Psychology by Chad V. Johnson (Editor); Harris L. Friedman (Editor)By introducing and explaining the intersection of two exciting and important areas of study, this landmark work unleashes their potential to address some of the most complex and globally relevant challenges of our time. In this unique handbook, experts team up to explain the many innovative ways psychology is being applied to promote social justice. The wide-ranging, three-volume work addresses such significant issues as social justice ideology and critical psychology, war and trauma, poverty and classism, environmental justice, and well-being and suffering. It showcases approaches for integrating social justice into psychology, and it examines psychology's application of social justice within special populations, such as sexual minorities, youth, women, disabled persons, prisoners, older adults, people of color, and many others. Chapter authors represent a diversity of perspectives, making the handbook an ideal resource for those who want information on a specific concern as well as for those looking for an introduction to the subject as a whole. Combining the practical with the theoretical, the work provides culturally sensitive tools that can effectively combat injustices locally and globally. Provides multiple perspectives on a vast array of social justice issues around the world Pays attention to inquiry, theory, and process to challenge injustices and inequities perpetuated by the status quo Addresses social justice within multiple systems and contexts, such as families, schools, organizations, and communities Examines the global and ideological influences on these systems Offers theory and data as well as methods, tools, and strategies for confronting current inequities and working toward a more just world through psychological applications
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice by Sherwood ThompsonThe Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a centralized source and convenient way to discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language, while offering a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences--negatively and positively--institutions and society. The terms have been carefully chosen in order to present the common usage of words and themes that dominate our daily conversations about these topics. Entries range from original research to synopses of existing scholarship. These discussions provide alternative views to popular doctrines and philosophical truths, and include many of the most popular terms used in current conversations on the topic, from ageism to xenophobia. This reference covers cultural, social, and political vernacular to offer an historical perspective as well. With contributions from experts in various fields, the entries consist of topics that represent a wider context among a diverse community of people from every walk of life.
eBook. Publication Date: 1950-present
Key source of literature review articles.
Covers the significant developments in the field of psychology.
Search within just the Annual Review of Psychology or search across all Annual Review publications to include Clinical Psychology, Organizational Psychology & Organizational Behavior, Neuroscience, etc.
This 8 volume set is the definitive guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice. International in scope, the Encyclopedia of Psychology is the first place to turn to for authoritative information on every area of the field..
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus.
Law Reference Works
Clinical Handbook of Psychiatry and the Law by Thomas G. Gutheil; Paul S. AppelbaumSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Written by two renowned leaders in the field, the much-anticipated fifth edition of Clinical Handbook of Psychiatry and the Law offers mental health professionals authoritative guidance on how today's law affects clinical practice. Each chapter in this award-winning reference presents case examples of legal issues often seen in day-to-day practice; clearly explains the governing legal rules, their rationale, and their clinical impact; and offers concrete action guides to navigating clinicolegal dilemmas. It's a must-have resource for anyone in the mental health field who needs an easy-to-read, practical handbook addressing both longstanding legal/ethical issues and crucial recent developments in the field. Addresses recent developments including the impact of electronic health records on privacy and liability risks, new technologies, prescription drug monitoring programs, risk management in integrated care, the practitioner's role in assessing suitability for gun ownership, and more. Reflects timely issues such as changing attitudes toward seclusion and restraint, new medications for psychiatric disorders and the role of informed consent, and increased liability and scrutiny of expert witnesses. Presents real-world case examples using an engaging, easy-to-read writing style, and includes unique action guides in each chapter that specify practical approaches to clinicolegal dilemmas. A useful study aid to help prepare for the forensic psychiatry sections of specialty board examinations. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Publication Date: 2019-06-15
The Handbook of Law and Society by Austin Sarat (Editor); Patricia Ewick (Editor)Bringing a timely synthesis to the field, The Handbook of Law and Society presents a comprehensive overview of key research findings, theoretical developments, and methodological controversies in the field of law and society. Provides illuminating insights into societal issues that pose ongoing real-world legal problems Offers accessible, succinct overviews with in-depth coverage of each topic, including its evolution, current state, and directions for future research Addresses a wide range of emergent topics in law and society and revisits perennial questions about law in a global world including the widening gap between codified laws and "law in action", problems in the implementation of legal decisions, law's constitutive role in shaping society, the importance of law in everyday life, ways legal institutions both embrace and resist change, the impact of new media and technologies on law, intersections of law and identity, law's relationship to social consensus and conflict, and many more Features contributions from 38 international expert scholars working in diverse fields at the intersections of legal studies and social sciences Unique in its contributions to this rapidly expanding and important new multi-disciplinary field of study