Disability Studies

Start Your Research Here: Databases

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Includes many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Information on health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
More than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Index to nursing & allied health literature. Topics include biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health. Content formats include lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide (FSSW) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Journals in sociology including topics such as gender identity, marriage and family, demographics, political sociology, religion, and socio-cultural anthropology.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Provided by the American Psychological Association (APA).
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts, citations, and full text in the field of education, including assessment and testing.
Alexander Street Press Videos This link opens in a new window
More than 70,000 streaming video titles spanning a wide range of subjects including art, anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
This database contains collections in Diversity and Health Sciences and the following channels:
- American History in Video
- American Newsreels in Video
- Art and Architecture in Video
- Asian Film Online
- Black Studies in Video
- Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
- Current Affairs in Video
- Environmental Studies in Video
- Ethnographic Video Online
- Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library
- Filmmakers Library Online
- Health and Society in Video
- Latin America in Video
- LGBT Studies in Video
- Music & Performing Arts
- PBS Video Collection
- Science & Engineering
- Social Sciences
- World History in Video
- World Newsreels Online (1929-1966)

Journals

Disability Studies Quarterly Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities. It represents the full range of methods, epistemologies, perspectives, and content that the multidisciplinary field of disability studies embraces. DSQ is committed to developing theoretical and practical knowledge about disability and to promoting the full and equal participation of persons with disabilities in society. (ISSN: 1041-5718; eISSN: 2159-8371)
Canadian Journal of Disability Studies The Canadian Journal of Disability Studies publishes peer-reviewed original articles that advance research in the multidisciplinary, international field of disability studies. The journal embraces a wide range of methodologies and perspectives, values collaborative and cross-disciplinary work, community partnership, and creative approaches to scholarship. Research in the Canadian Journal of Disability Studies will be of interest to scholars and students from across all academic disciplines, as well as anyone involved in disability arts, advocacy, community organization or policy. The journal foregrounds a critical disability studies perspective, committed to disability rights.
Disability & Society Disability & Society is an international disability studies journal providing a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, definitions, policy and practices. It appears against a background of constant change in the ways in which disability is viewed and responded to. The journal publishes articles that represent a wide range of perspectives including the importance of the voices of disabled people.
Review of Disability Studies The Review of Disability Studies: An International Journal (RDS) provides an international forum for people with disabilities, academics, professionals, artists and creators from all backgrounds and expertise to express ideas relevant to disability studies and people with disabilities. RDS is open to a wide variety of perspectives, approaches, views, and paradigms relevant to the study and experience of disability.
Journal of Intellectual & Developmental Disability ournal of Intellectual and Developmental Disability ( formerly the Australia and New Zealand Journal of Developmental Disabilities) is the official journal of the Australasian Society for Intellectual Disability (ASID). JIDD is an international, multidisciplinary journal in the field of intellectual and developmental disability. JIDD publishes substantive original research from both established and newer academic disciplines (such as sociology and geography) that address the situation and concerns of people with intellectual disabilities, and their families and staff. It accepts research into commonly associated developmental and neurodevelopmental disabilities only when these are in conjunction with intellectual disability.
Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education The Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education (JDSDE) is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal. The aims and scope of the journal are to integrate and coordinate basic and applied research relating to deaf individuals, including cultural, growth and developmental, linguistic, and educational topics.
American Journal on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities American Journal on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AJIDD) is a scientific, scholarly, and archival multidisciplinary journal for reporting original contributions of the highest quality to knowledge of intellectual disability, its causes, treatment, and prevention.
Journal of Disability Policy Studies Addresses compelling variable issues in ethics, policy and law related to individuals with disabilities. Regular features include "From My Perspective," which discusses issues confronting a particular disability discipline or area, and "Point/Counterpoint" which addresses timely ethical issues affecting individuals with disabilities.
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies Focusing on representations of disability, Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies publishes a wide variety of textual analyses that are informed by disability theory and, by extension, experiences of disability. Instrumental in the interdisciplinarity of literary studies, cultural studies, and disability studies, It is an essential disability studies journal for scholars whose work concentrates on the portrayal of disability.
International Journal of Disability, Development, and Education Founded in 1954, the International Journal of Disability, Development and Education (IJDDE) is a multi-disciplinary peer-reviewed journal with an international focus. It provides a single source of information on the education and development of persons with disabilities. IJDDE aims to publish the very best research and review articles concerned with all aspects of education, human development, special education and rehabilitation.
Alter: European Journal of Disability Research Alter is a quarterly journal published since 2007 by the EHESS - École des hautes études en sciences sociales. It is dedicated to interdisciplinary research in the humanities and social sciences on disability and otherness. Widely open to European and international contributions, the journal publishes its articles in French and English.
Journal of Disability Studies in Education The Journal of Disability Studies in Education (JDSE) seeks to examine the architectures, cultures, discourses and practices of education across all sectors: early childhood education; elementary education; secondary education; higher education; vocational training; as well as informal and alternative education provision. Research into transitions within and across educational sectors, as well as transitions from education to employment and independent living, will also be of interest to JDSE and its readership.

Last Updated: Jun 28, 2024 11:35 AM
URL: https://library.thechicagoschool.edu/disability-studies
Print Page

Subjects: Disability Studies