Discover UC Berkeley's rich collection of primary sources (Including many ORAL HISTORIES) exploring the social and political history of the disability movement from the 1960s to the present. Investigate related projects on artists with disabilities and the Self-Advocacy Movement.
The Disability History Association (DHA) is an international non-profit organization that promotes the study of disabilities. This includes, but is not limited to, the history of individuals or groups with disabilities, perspectives on disability, representations/ constructions of disability, policy and practice history, teaching, theory, and Disability and related social and civil rights movements.
Advances policies and practices to enhance opportunities for people with disabilities and ensure their full inclusion in the workplace and in communities. YTI is a leading source of research and information on employment and disability for employers, lawmakers, federal and state agencies, and service providers.
A Canadian foundation focusing on workplace-based reintegration, the NIDMAR focuses on education, training, research and policy development. The NIDMAR site includes information on training programs, products and services, as well as links to other sites. In addition, the site provides a listing of the board of directors, and a calendar of events.
H-Disability is a scholarly network that explores the multitude of historical issues surrounding the experience and phenomenon of 'disability.' H-Disability was established in response to the growing academic interest and expanding scholarly literature on issues of disability throughout the world.
National Disability Rights Network
The National Disability Rights Network (NDRN) is the nonprofit membership organization for the federally mandated Protection and Advocacy (P&A) Systems and the Client Assistance Programs (CAP) for individuals with disabilities. As the national membership association for the P&A/CAP network, NDRN has aggressively sought federal support for advocacy on behalf of people with disabilities, and expanded P&A programs from a narrow initial focus on the institutional care provided to people with intellectual disabilities in facilities to include advocacy services for all people with disabilities no matter the type or nature of their disability.
ACL Administration on Disabilities
The Administration on Disabilities (AoD) collaborates with states, communities, and partners in the disability network to equip individuals with disabilities of all ages with opportunities, tools, and supports to lead lives of their choice in their community. Under the provisions established through various authorizing statutes, AoD seeks to improve opportunities for people with disabilities to access quality community services and supports, achieve economic self-sufficiency, and experience equality, equity, and inclusion in all facets of community life.
National Organization on Disability
"When the National Organization on Disability was founded in 1982, it was the first organization in the United States to represent every person with a disability, regardless of particular needs or circumstances. To have a disability is to belong to a large extended community — one out of every four Americans fits the description — that includes immense diversity, but also common threads of shared experience. Our mission has always been to break down the barriers that fence people off from the wider community. Today, we focus the whole of our energy on eliminating the most wasteful and isolating of all those barriers: the artificial gulf that keeps tens of millions of people out of the productive workforce. We envision a world where all people with disabilities enjoy full opportunity for employment, enterprise and earnings, and employers know how to make the most of our talents."
Society for Disability Studies
The Society for Disability Studies (SDS) is a scholarly organization dedicated to promoting disability studies. More than forty years of rich history has enabled the organization to cultivate a multinational membership base with expertise ranging from advocacy, activism, and scholarly perspectives on disability from a variety of disciplines.
AHEAD Association on Higher Ed and Disability
Since 1977, AHEAD has offered an unparalleled member experience to disability resource professionals, student affairs personnel, ADA coordinators, diversity officers, AT/IT staff, faculty and other instructional personnel, and colleagues who are invested in creating welcoming higher education experiences for disabled individuals. Informed by its diverse membership, AHEAD delivers exceptional professional development opportunities through conferences, workshops, webinars, publications, and consultation; fosters community and member networking; informs members of emerging issues relevant to disability and higher education in the legislative and regulatory spheres; and disseminates data, promotes research, and furthers evidence-based practice.
Disability History Museum
The Disability History Museum hosts a Library of virtual artifacts, Education curricula, and Museum exhibits. These programs are designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities.
JAN: Job Accommodation Network
JAN helps employers recognize the valuable contributions that qualified workers with disabilities add to the workforce by providing accommodation solutions, trusted strategies, and practical guidance on the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Job accommodations play a vital role in creating inclusive workplaces, advancing the goals of the ADA, and increasing employment opportunities for people with disabilities.
"The ILO has a longstanding commitment to promoting social justice and achieving decent work for people with disabilities. It takes a twin-track approach to disability inclusion. One track allows for disability-specific programmes or initiatives aimed at overcoming particular disadvantages or barriers, while the other track seeks to ensure the inclusion of disabled persons in mainstream services and activities, such as skills training, employment promotion, social protection schemes and poverty reduction strategies."
The Global Applied Disability Research and Information Network is an initiative of the Vocational Rehabilitation Branch of the International Labour Organization. The network brings together research centers, universities, enterprises, government departments, trade unions, and organizations representing disabled persons "for the promotion of research as well as the collection, analysis and international exchange of information.
Studies, statements, publications, and resources on the international framework for promoting and enforcing the human rights of persons with disabilities.
Global Disability Law and Policy
Updated in April of 2023, This collection curated by Lainey Feingold contains information about laws that protect disabled people’s rights to participate in the digital world. These laws recognize that access to websites, digital content, and other technology is a civil and human right of disabled people.
International Disability Alliance
With member organizations around the world, IDA represents the estimated one billion people worldwide living with disabilities. Among them are some of the world’s largest – and most frequently overlooked – marginalized group. With its unique composition, including the foremost international disability rights organizations, IDA is considered by the United Nations System as the most authoritative representation of persons with disabilities on the global level.
Statistical Sources on the Web
Annual Disability Statistics Compendium - Collects disability statistics from various federal agencies. Includes annual reports on disability statistics in the United States, as well as state statistics broken down by county.
State Data Info - Collects data from state intellectual and developmental disability agencies on work and employment. Includes national reports and state snapshots.
Disability Statistics - Online resource from Cornell University with an interactive search tool that covers American Community Survey, Current Population Survey, and other data sources. Also includes annual Disability Status reports dating back to 2008.