Background information provides a general overview of a research topic, including important terms and concepts, relevant names of people or places, and dates of specific events, etc. Finding background information can help you:
Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
Identify more specific areas of your topic that you may want to research further.
Identify and define unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
Find references to other books and articles on the subject
Find specific keywords to use in online searches
Best Bets: General Reference & Essential Texts
Apa Handbook of Behavior Analysis by Gregory J. Madden (Editor)Behaviour analysis emerged from the nonhuman laboratories of B. F. Skinner, Fred Keller, Nate Schoenfeld, Murray Sidman, James Dinsmoor, Richard Herrnstein, Nate Azrin, and others who pioneered experimental preparations designed to do one thing -- find orderly relations between environment and behaviour. This bottom-up approach to a natural science of behaviour yielded a set of behavioural principles that proved orderly and replicable across subjects, laboratories, and species. By the 1960s, behaviour analysts began translating these principles into interventions for institutionalised humans characterised by impoverished repertoires of adaptive behaviour. When these interventions proved successful in replacing problem- with adaptive-behaviour, the field of Applied Behaviour Analysis was born. Over the last 50 years the field of behaviour analysis has grown substantially both in the number of practicing behaviour analysts and the range of behaviour to which behavioural principles have been applied. Today the laboratory study of basic principles of behaviour continues to expand our understanding of behaviour and to inform the treatment of disorders ranging from autism to substance abuse. The present volumes continue this inductive translational approach to the science of behaviour analysis by providing overview and in-depth chapters spanning the breadth of behaviour analysis. Volume I: Methods and Principles provides comprehensive coverage of the logic, clinical utility, and methods of single-case research designs. Chapters walk the reader through the design, data collection, and data analysis phases and are appropriate for students, researchers, and clinicians concerned with best practice. Volume I also provides an overview of the experimental analysis of behaviour, and chapters reviewing some of the most important areas of contemporary laboratory research in behaviour analysis. Topics covered include memory, attention, choice, behavioural neuroscience, and behavioural pharmacology. Volume II: Translating Principles into Practice includes 10 chapters illustrating how principles of behaviour discovered in basic-science laboratories have provided insights on socially important human behaviour ranging from the complex discriminations that underlie human language to disorders treated by clinical psychologists. The second section of Volume II includes 12 chapters, each devoted to a particular behavioural/developmental disorder (e.g., behavioural treatments of ADHD, autism) or to behaviour of societal importance (e.g., effective college teaching, effective treatment of substance abuse). Each of these chapters provides a review of what works and where additional research is needed.
Publication Date: 2012
Applied Behavior Analysis Advanced Guidebook by James K. Luiselli (Editor)The Applied Behavior Analysis Practice Guidebook: A Manual for Professional Practice gives behavioral practitioners pragmatic advice, direction and recommendations for being an effective clinician, consultant, supervisor and performance manager. The book adopts a how to do it perspective featuring contributions from expert scientist-practitioners. Each chapter introduces the relevance of the topic for practicing professionals, describes and synthesizes the empirical basis of the topic, and then presents practitioner recommendations. With this format, readers can navigate the chapters with familiarity and confidence to facilitate the understanding of content and integration of the many practice areas addressed.
Publication Date: 2017
Clinical and Organizational Applications of Applied Behavior Analysis by Henry S. Roane (Editor); Joel E. Ringdahl (Editor); Terry S. Falcomata (Editor)Applied behavior analysts use applied research to create and implement effective evidence-based procedures in schools, homes, and the community, which have proved effective in addressing behaviors associated with autism and other developmental disorders. The principles underlying this therapeutic approach have been increasingly effective when applied to other populations, settings, and behaviors. Clinical and Organizational Applications of Applied Behavior Analysis explores data-based decision-making in depth to inform treatment selection for behavior change across various populations and contexts. Each chapter addresses considerations related to data collection, single-case research design methodology, objective decision-making, and visual inspection of data. The authors reference a range of published research methods in the area of applied behavior analysis (ABA) as it has been applied to specific topics, as well as utilizing their own clinical work by providing numerous case examples.
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis by Wayne W. Fisher (Editor); Cathleen C. Piazza (Editor); Henry S. Roane (Editor) Describing the state of the science of applied behavior analysis (ABA), this comprehensive handbook provides detailed information about theory, research, and intervention. The contributors are leading ABA authorities who present current best practices in behavioral assessment and demonstrate evidence-based strategies for supporting positive behaviors and reducing problem behaviors. Conceptual, empirical, and procedural building blocks of ABA are reviewed and specific applications described in education, autism treatment, safety skills for children, and other areas. The volume also addresses crucial professional and ethical issues, making it a complete reference and training tool for ABA practitioners and students.
Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis Interventions for Autism by Justin B. Leaf (Editor); Joseph H. Cihon (Editor); Julia L. Ferguson (Editor); Mary Jane Weiss (Editor)This handbook addresses evidence-based practices in Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) for individuals diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). It provides an overview of the history of evidence-based practices and their importance as applied to the law, school settings, and factors that influence the use for treatment of ASD. Additional areas of coverage include evidence-based and non-evidence-based ABA interventions for autism as well as decision-making ethics related to these treatments. In addition, the book addresses cultural considerations as they relate to these treatments and examines procedural aspects of ABA interventions for autism. Key ABA treatments addressed include: Discrete trial teaching. Pivotal response training. Video modeling. Parent-mediated intervention. Early Start Denver Model, PEAK, PECS, and AAC. Script fading/activity schedules and differential reinforcement/extinction. Response interruption and redirection. Self-management and self-monitoring. The Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis Interventions for Autism is a must-have resource for researchers, professors, and graduate students as well as clinicians, therapists, and other professionals across such interrelated disciplines as clinical child, school, and developmental psychology, child and adolescent psychiatry, social work, rehabilitation medicine/therapy, pediatrics, and special education.
Publication Date: 2022
Other Essential Texts
Applied Behavior Analysis of Language and Cognition by Ruth Anne Rehfeldt (Editor); Jonathan Tarbox (Editor); Mitch Fryling (Editor); Linda J. Hayes (Editor)Written by leading experts in language and cognition, this groundbreaking behavior analysis textbook brings the study of verbal behavior into the 21st century with cutting-edge research. Students and clinicians in the burgeoning field of applied behavior analysis will find the theoretical foundation they need to effectively help the increasingly diverse clients seeking their services. The origins of behavior analysis can be traced to the pioneering work of B.F. Skinner. Skinner's fundamental insights into how human behavior is shaped, maintained, and can be changed were powerful and far-reaching. Some of Skinner's most innovative contributions were in the study of language. Behavior analytic work in the area of language and cognition did not stop with Skinner, however. Indeed, Skinner's work in this area has inspired considerable expansion, particularly with an eye toward more sophisticated verbal and cognitive repertoires. This important volume provides an overview of the concepts and core behavioral processes involved in language and cognition. You'll find a deeper exploration of complex linguistic and cognitive skills, including generative responding, learning by observation, and perspective taking. Also included are clinically supported interventions based in mindfulness, psychological flexibility, and emotion regulation to help clients improve complex language, social, and academic skills. The future of behavior analysis is here. With its focus on the importance of language and cognition, this textbook is a must-read for anyone studying or practicing in the science of behavior.
Publication Date: 2020-03-01
Multiculturalism and Diversity in Applied Behavior Analysis by Brian M. Conners (Editor); Shawn T. Capell (Editor)This textbook provides a theoretical and clinical framework for addressing multiculturalism and diversity in the field of applied behavior analysis (ABA). Featuring contributions from national experts, practicing clinicians, researchers, and academics that balance both a scholarly yet practical perspective, this book guides the reader through theoretical foundations to clinical applications to help behavior analysts understand the impact of diversity in the ABA service delivery model. Chapters contain learning objectives, literature reviews, practice considerations, case studies, and discussion questions and are all aligned with the current BACB® Professional and Ethical Compliance Code and BACB® Task List. Accompanying the book are online test materials for students and instructors to assess the knowledge they have learned about various diversity topics. This book is a must have for graduate students in ABA programs, faculty to incorporate diversity topics into graduate preparation, supervisors looking to enhance a supervisee's understanding of working with diverse clients, and practicing behavior analysts in the field wanting to increase their awareness of working with diverse populations.