Background information provides a general overview of a research topic, including important terms and concepts, relevant names of people or places, and dates of specific events, etc. Finding background information can help you:
Global Psychologies: Mental Health and the Global South by
This book critiques our reliance on Eurocentric knowledge in the education and training of psychology and psychiatry. Chapters explore the diversity of 'constructions of the self' in non-Western cultures, examining traditional psychologies from Africa, Asia, Australasia, and Pre-Columbian America.
Pathfinders in International Psychology by
A volume in International Psychology Series Editors: Uwe P. Gielen, Senel Poyrazli, and Harold Takooshian (sponsored by APA International Psychology Division, Division 52) This book provides a global overview of pioneers in international psychology with contributions from distinguished authors from representative nations around the world.
Transnational Psychology of Women by
This book presents groundbreaking scholarship on new approaches to women's psychology. Transnational psychology pushes beyond traditional Western, androcentric frameworks to provide theorists, researchers, and practitioners with tools to identify and deconstruct hegemonies, give voice to the marginalized, and critically examine the dynamic nature of identity in local and global contexts.
The Psychology of Peace Promotion: Global Perspectives on Personal Peace, Children and Adolescents, and Social Justice by
This volume Psychology of Peace Promotion builds on previous volumes of peace psychology, extending its contributions by drawing from peace research and practices from five continents - Africa, Asia, Europe, North America and South America. The book discusses emerging disciplinary and inter-disciplinary theories and actions.
The Palgrave Handbook of Sociocultural Perspectives in Global Mental Health by
This handbook incisively explores challenges and opportunities that exist in efforts aimed at addressing inequities in mental health provision across the globe. Drawing on various disciplines across the humanities, psychology, and social sciences it charts the emergence of Global Mental Health as a field of study. It critically reflects on efforts and interventions being made to globalize mental health policies, and discusses key themes relevant for understanding and supporting the mental health needs of people living in diverse socio-economical and cultural environments.
Principles and Concepts of Behavioral Medicine by
Principles and Concepts of Behavioral Medicine A Global Handbook Edwin B. Fisher, Linda D. Cameron, Alan J. Christensen, Ulrike Ehlert, Brian Oldenburg, Frank J. Snoek and Yan Guo This definitive handbook brings together an international array of experts to present the broad, cells-to-society perspectives of behavioral medicine that complement conventional models of health, health care, and prevention. In addition to applications to assessment, diagnosis, intervention, and management, contributors offer innovative prevention and health promotion strategies informed by current knowledge of the mechanisms and pathways of behavior change. Its range of conceptual and practical topics illustrates the central role of behavior in health at the individual, family, community, and population levels, and its increasing importance to person-centered care.
Encyclopedia of Psychology by 
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by 
Handbook of Cultural Psychology, Second Edition by
Now completely revised (over 90% new), this handbook offers the authoritative presentation of theories, methods, and applications in the dynamic field of cultural psychology. Leading scholars review state-of-the-art empirical research on how culture affects nearly every aspect of human functioning. The volume examines how topics fundamental to psychology--such as cognition, emotion, motivation, development, and mental health--are influenced by cultural meanings and practices. It also addresses the psychological and evolutionary underpinnings of cultural stability and change
Handbook of Advances in Culture and Psychology, Volume 7 by
With applications throughout the social sciences, culture and psychology is a rapidly growing field that has experienced a surge in publications over the last decade. From this proliferation of books, chapters, and journal articles, exciting developments have emerged in the relationship of culture to cognitive processes, human development, psychopathology, social behavior, organizational behavior, neuroscience, language, marketing, and other topics. In recognition of this exponential growth, Advances in Culture and Psychology is the first annual series to offer state-of-the-art reviews of scholarly research in the growing field of culture and psychology. The Advances in Culture and Psychology series is: * Developing an intellectual home for culture and psychology research programs * Fostering bridges and connections among cultural scholars from across the discipline * Creating a premier outlet for culture and psychology research * Publishing articles that reflect the theoretical, methodological, and epistemological diversity in the study of culture and psychology * Enhancing the collective identity of the culture and psychology field Comprising chapters from internationally renowned culture scholars and representing diversity in the theory and study of culture within psychology, Advances in Culture and Psychology is an ideal resource for research programs and academics throughout the psychology community.
Handbook of International Feminisms by
The goal of Handbook of International Perspectives on Feminism is to present the histories, status, and contours of feminist research and practice in their respective regional and/or national contexts. T
APA Handbook of the Psychology of Women by
Across this two-volume set, chapter authors provide scholarly reviews and in-depth analyses of subjects within their areas of expertise. Themes of status and power inform many chapters.
APA Handbook of Sexuality and Psychology by
This comprehensive, two-volume handbook provides an overarching review of current empirical research on sexuality and a synthesis of the dominant theoretical perspectives that have guided both research and clinical practice.
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Psychology by
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Psychology is a unique, state-of-the-art synthesis of the known work, combined with current research trends, in the broad field of gender and psychology. Contributions come from academics around the world and many different disciplines covering a wide variety of topics, theoretical approaches, contexts, and social issues; they also critically examine the key issues and current debates.
